Pennsylvania Auto Insurance Quotes
If you're in need of Pennsylvania auto insurance coverage, you're in the right place. We have the most comprehensive information on Pennsylvania's auto insurance requirements so that you can learn what kind of policy you need before you request an insurance quote. Familiarize yourself with Pennsylvania's insurance regulations and you will understand what coverage is required and what coverage is considered optional. Once you have an understanding of the policy you need, you can request quotes from insurers that are licensed to cover Pennsylvania drivers.
Auto insurance is a bare necessity these days. Accidents happen all the time and hence the need for coverage becomes all the more important. Pennsylvania auto insurance also has some minimum requirements just like any other state. Although the auto insurance laws are federally governed, it is the Insurance Commissioner in the state who decides the minimum mandates in each state. These figures are arrived at, after taking a whole lot of factors into consideration.
The Minimum Requirements
Pennsylvania auto insurance minimums are $15,000 for bodily injury per person, $30,000 per accident, and $5,000 for damage to property. The PIP coverage is $5,000. This is the amount of minimum liability coverage that every motorist has to carry. All the drivers in the household will have to be covered by liability insurance as per Pennsylvania laws and they should also carry proof of insurance in their vehicles at all times. This has to be produced on demand from law enforcement authorities, failing which the drivers have to pay a fine of $300 and will also face a 3-month suspension of the vehicle registration. The driver will also be required to pay a fee for reinstatement of license. The vehicle can also get impounded.
Although some states are required to carry the UM or UIM (Uninsured or Underinsured Motorist Coverage), Pennsylvania auto insurance laws don't require this coverage. It is not mandatory, but drivers are generally advised to purchase this additional coverage as well. This is especially helpful in the event of a hit and run accident. Here, the driver will get compensated in case the other party is not insured or is inadequately covered.
Pennsylvania is a Tort State, which means that the at-fault driver should pay for the medical expenses that have been incurred by the victim. So, this state does not have no-fault insurance. Since it is a Tort state the victim is entitled to claim compensation, loss of wages, as well as pain and suffering.
Laws Pertaining to Driving Under Influence
As per Pennsylvania's DUI laws, a BAC of 0.08% is considered a DUI offense. The penalties may vary according the ranges of BAC levels. Pennsylvania comes down heavily on DUI offenses. As the state follows the implied consent laws, the driver may be pulled over for suspected DUI and in case the driver refuses to submit to the test, the license would be suspended for a period of one year. Subsequent refusals to subject to the test will mean greater penalties as well as suspension time.
The first Pennsylvania DUI offense with a BAC of 0.08% to 0.099% would attract a fine of $3,000 with six-month probation. If the BAC is 0.10% to 0.159% it would attract a fine of $500 to $5,000 and the jail term could be between 2 days and 6 months, with a one year license suspension. If the BAC is found to be 0.16% the jail term would be 3 days to 6 months and will attract a fine of $1,000 to $5,000 with a one year license suspension. The penalties will vary according to the number of offenses that are committed and the jail term will also depend on that.
Other Traffic Laws
There has been a steep increase in the number of accidents due to distracted driving. As a result of this, all states are making extra efforts to come out with stricter laws regarding cellphone usage and distracted driving.
The Pennsylvania House has passed a ban on texting while driving. The state is also considering other Distracted Driver Laws with regard to cellphone use. Statistics have shown that 50% of the drivers between 18 to 24 years of age indulge in texting messages while driving and they have also admitted to the same. A majority of accidents are caused due to this distraction. At present, there are six states that have banned the use of handheld wireless devices while driving.
If you are caught using a cellphone while driving, you could face stiff penalties. You may also face a jail term in case you are involved in an accident due to distracted driving. Hence, the best thing to do would be avoid cellphone usage while driving.
Since, Pennsylvania uses the GDL system; the teenage drivers should be 16 years old in order to qualify for a GDL. The teenage driver will start off with the JLP or Junior Learner's Permit. After holding this permit for a period of six months and completing a minimum of 50 hours of behind-the-wheel training under the guidance of a licensed driver, they may apply for a valid license. However, teenage drivers will have to meet all the requirements before they can get hold of their full licenses.
While applying for a Junior Learner's Permit, the teenage driver will need proof of identity and proof of residency, age proof, social security card, and consent from a parent or guardian. The teen will also have to undergo a written exam and a vision test.
In order to obtain a full unrestricted license, the teen should be around 18 years old and should have held a clean driving record for a period of one year before applying for the license. The teenage driver should have also completed a state-approved driver education course.
Pennsylvania Teen Driver Restrictions
During the Learner Permit Phase, the teenage driver should be accompanied by an adult holding a valid license and should be at least 21 years of age. The adult should be seated in the front passenger seat during this phase of learning. The teenage driver should not drive the vehicle between 11 p.m. and 5 a.m.
During the Junior Driver License phase the driver should not drive between 11 p.m. and 5 a.m. unless they are accompanied by a parent or guardian holding a valid license.
Violating these rules will lead to suspension of license.
Auto insurance is absolutely essential and the best way to get hold of a policy is to apply online and obtain quotes. Carry out a comparison of quotes before deciding on the one that is right for you. Shopping online and obtaining quotes will help you save time and money.
More Insurance Online
Auto Insurance Guide
- Pennsylvania Auto Insurance Basics
- Pennsylvania Auto Insurance Coverage
- Pennsylvania Auto Insurance Discounts
- Pennsylvania Factors that Affect Insurance Rates
- Pennsylvania Driving and Traffic Laws
- Pennsylvania Tips For Saving on Car Insurance
Auto Insurance in Pennsylvania Cities
- Houston Auto Insurance
- Columbus Auto Insurance
- Dallas Auto Insurance
- Washington Auto Insurance
- Philadelphia Auto Insurance
- Denver Auto Insurance
- Portland Auto Insurance
- Austin Auto Insurance
- Columbia Auto Insurance
- Pittsburgh Auto Insurance
- Sacramento Auto Insurance
- Springfield Auto Insurance
- Brooklyn Auto Insurance
- Rochester Auto Insurance
- California Auto Insurance
- Jackson Auto Insurance
- Knoxville Auto Insurance
- Riverside Auto Insurance
- Concord Auto Insurance
- Franklin Auto Insurance
- Erie Auto Insurance
- Montgomery Auto Insurance
- Plymouth Auto Insurance
- Reno Auto Insurance
- Worcester Auto Insurance
- York Auto Insurance
- Bristol Auto Insurance
- Gilbert Auto Insurance
- Hamilton Auto Insurance
- Hanover Auto Insurance
- Kent Auto Insurance
- Oxford Auto Insurance
- Reading Auto Insurance
- Sterling Auto Insurance