Before shopping for car insurance in Pennsylvania, it is important to understand the basics of coverage in this state. While drivers are required to carry car insurance across the country, the specific requirements can vary from state to state. Understanding the differences for Pennsylvania will help you to find the best deals on your car insurance. This article will cover basic information about car insurance in Pennsylvania, including the specific insurance regulations for this state.
The state of Pennsylvania requires minimum coverage in three basic components of car insurance; bodily injury liability, property damage liability and personal injury protection or PIP. While these are the minimum requirements, there are other types of coverage that drivers may want to add to their policy as well. It is important to understand what the coverage entails for each of these components of a policy and to know what other options are available to complete the coverage for each individual driver based on his own unique situation.
Bodily Injury Liability
Bodily injury liability covers any harm done to another individual by your vehicle. It will generally cover all of the medical expenses for the injured party as well as lost wages while the person could not work. In some cases, pain and suffering may be added on to the total amount of the compensation. In Pennsylvania, drivers are required to carry a minimum of $15,000 of individual bodily injury liability with a cumulative coverage of $30,000.
Property Damage Liability
Property damage liability covers the amount of damage your car does to another person’s property. While this typically entails damage to another vehicle, it may also include property like a fence or other structure. Pennsylvania state law requires drivers carry a minimum of $5000 in property damage liability.
Personal Injury Protection
Personal injury protection covers you and your passengers who are hurt in an accident. In some cases, an individual’s health insurance and disability policy will carry most of these expenses, making it unnecessary to purchase personal injury protection with an auto insurance policy. However, that coverage rarely covers medical costs and lost wages completely. That is why some states, like Pennsylvania, require a minimum PIP coverage. According to Pennsylvania state law, that minimum is currently $5000.
In addition to these basic requirements, drivers might also want to consider comprehensive and collision insurance that will cover their vehicle from accidents, theft and other types of damage. There is also uninsured motorist coverage available to protect you in the event you get into an accident with an uninsured driver. These components are optional, and may depend on how much coverage you can afford and how new your vehicle is. Getting the right coverage for your specific needs will offer sufficient protection at the best price.