Connecticut Auto Insurance Quotes
Connecticut auto insurance is a complicated matter and selecting the correct types of coverages and their limits can be a frustrating affair. However, by visiting our site, you have made the right decision. We provide you comprehensive Connecticut auto insurance quotes and detailed information on various kinds of coverages. The statutory auto insurance requirements of Connecticut vary from those prevailing in other states. We furnish complete information on the coverages that you should purchase to comply with the mandatory coverage requirements and also about the other types of optional coverages that are capable of giving you total mental peace and financial protection. We help you in conducting a comprehensive search for the ideal Connecticut auto insurance coverages that are most suitable to you.
Auto insurance is a basic necessity and every motorist should have adequate insurance cover in order to be able to drive around legally anywhere in the US. Each state has its own minimum auto insurance requirements and motorists are supposed to have at least the mandated coverage. In fact even the minimum prescribed by the state is very often insufficient to cover up for the losses in the event of an accident. Hence, motorists are advised to purchase coverage that will cover the losses.
Driving Laws in Connecticut
As per the Connecticut auto insurance laws, drivers in every household must be covered by liability insurance and also carry proof of insurance in their vehicles at all times. Added to this, the drivers are expected to submit proof of insurance prior to getting their vehicles registered. The minimum liability coverage in Connecticut is $20,000 for bodily injury per person, $40,000 for all bodily injuries, and $10,000 for damage to property, and $20,000 /$40,000 Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Coverage.
Many states require the motorists to carry Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Coverage and Connecticut is also one of them. This is especially helpful in situations where you might be involved in an accident where the opposite party is not sufficiently covered by their auto insurance policies.
Since Connecticut is a Tort state, the at-fault driver will have to bear the costs of medical expenses. The victim may also sue for damages and claim for compensation, loss of wages, and pain and suffering as well. Here, you don't require no-fault insurance as no-fault laws are no applicable.
Like many other states, Connecticut has also adopted the GDL or Graduated Driver Licensing system. This is a system that will help reduce the number of motor vehicle accidents on the roads that are mainly caused by inexperienced drivers. With the help of this system, teenage drivers will be gradually introduced to the driving privileges and they will be able to gain valuable behind-the-wheel experience that will ultimately help them obtain the Connecticut driver's license.
The aspirant should be at least 16 years old and anybody who wishes to get a driver's license should hold the instructions permit for a period of six months and have supervised driving sessions during that period. If you enroll in a state certified driver's education program then you may hold this permit for a period of 4 months, however, you will require 20 hours of supervised driving practice. The supervising adult should be a parent or legal guardian holding a valid license. After meeting the instruction permit requirements, teenage drivers can obtain the intermediate license and use it until they are 18 years old.
To get an unrestricted Connecticut driver's license, the applicant should meet the necessary criterion. The applicant should be 18 years of age and should have completed an 8-hour safe driving course. He/she should have maintained a clean driving record and should pass a vision test. They should provide proof of age, identity, and residency.
Teen Driver Restrictions in Connecticut
Teen drivers holding a restricted license should not drive between 12 a.m. and 5 a.m., unless they are accompanied by a supervising adult who is 21 years or above and should be holding a valid license. Passengers are also expected to wear seatbelts at all times. If a teenage driver is caught violating any of these laws, their licenses will get suspended and there could be delays in obtaining their licenses. They will also face stiff penalties, community service or even a jail term.
Statistics have shown that around 50% of drivers who are in the 18 to 24 age group are engaged in texting messages while driving. Most of the drivers admit to doing this all the time. Since four out of five accidents are caused due to distractions while driving, all states are planning to bring forth strict laws with regard to cell phone usage and distracted driving.
However, the Connecticut House Bill 6410 allows cellphone usage while driving, in case the driver is engaged in performing official duties.
Use of cellphones by 16 or 17-year-olds is strictly forbidden as per the Connecticut laws. However, drivers who are 18 years and above are allowed to use devices, that have the hands-free technology. the only exception to these rules are in cases where the under-18 driver is engaged as an emergency response professional, like an ambulance driver for instance, or is a peace officer, or in the event of a personal emergency.
DUI Laws in Connecticut
In the state of Connecticut, you could be charged with DUI or Driving under Influence if the BAC or Blood Alcohol Content is found to be 0.08%, which is the minimum known to impair anyone. If you are a minor, it is illegal to have a BAC of 0.02% or above.
If you are convicted of the first DUI offense under Connecticut laws you could face 48 hours in prison and will be slapped with a fine of $500 to $1,000, with a one year license suspension. The vehicle may also be towed away or impounded for a period of 48 hours.
In case you are involved in a second DUI offense, you may face 120 days in prison and face a fine of $1,000 to $4,000, with a one-year suspension of license.
Since Connecticut follows the implied consent law, you could be pulled up on suspicion of DUI and you will be subject to a chemical test. In case you refuse the test, you will face severe penalties that are similar to a DUI conviction.
Making a wise choice
Each state has different laws and it is important to be aware of the laws before you think of purchasing auto insurance. You can go online and obtain multiple quotes and then decide which insurance provider you want to go with. Shopping online will help you save a lot of time and money as you will find the best rates in the easiest possible manner. Always compare rates from various insurance providers and purchase the right amount of coverage. Discuss with your insurance agent or your insurance carrier regarding the type of coverage and the right amount of coverage and clarify all your doubts.
More Insurance Online
Auto Insurance Guide
- Connecticut Auto Insurance Basics
- Connecticut Auto Insurance Coverage
- Connecticut Auto Insurance Discounts
- Connecticut Factors that Affect Insurance Rates
- Connecticut Driving and Traffic Laws
- Connecticut Tips For Saving on Car Insurance
Auto Insurance in Connecticut Cities
- Washington Auto Insurance
- Portland Auto Insurance
- Columbia Auto Insurance
- Brooklyn Auto Insurance
- Riverside Auto Insurance
- Hartford Auto Insurance
- Salem Auto Insurance
- Orange Auto Insurance
- Plymouth Auto Insurance
- Bristol Auto Insurance
- Hanover Auto Insurance
- Kent Auto Insurance
- Oxford Auto Insurance
- Sterling Auto Insurance