The consequences for breaking the rules of the road may vary from state to state but the actual rules of the road are pretty much the same wherever you go. You should know the driving and traffic laws in the state that you drive in as well as one you may be planning to drive through.
Connecticut enforces their seat belt law and police officers can pull you over for not wearing a seat belt without having any other reason to stop you. The driver and all passengers in the front seat of the vehicle must wear a seat belt. Passengers in the back seat between the ages of 4 to 16 must also wear seat belts.
Children and infants under the age of seven and weighing less than 60 pounds must be in an approved child safety seat or you could be fined $25. Infants under the age of one and weighing less than 20 pounds must be in a rear facing seat. Older children must be restrained in a booster seat and when they outgrow that, an adult seat belt.
If you are caught driving under the influence of alcohol in the state of Connecticut with a .08 blood alcohol level you can lose your drivers license for 90 days with your first offense. Further offenses will result in even more severe suspensions and fines, and even include jail time.
The speed limits in effect on the highways in Connecticut are all at 65 mph. If you are caught driving 85 mph or more it is considered reckless driving.
You are not allowed to drive and use your cell phone or any other electronic devices if you are under the age of 18. Drivers over the age of 18 can use a hands-free phone and anyone can use a cell phone if it is for an emergency.
Connecticut has recently added a Teen Driving Law. This law requires drivers under 18 years of age to be off the road by 11 pm. Parents must take a 2-hour teen driving class before their child can even take his or her drivers test.
Any violation that occurs while you are driving is considered a moving violation – running a red light, speeding, and failure to come to a complete stop at a stop sign. Other instances are considered non-moving violations like having a headlight that is out or a signal light that is not working correctly.
If you get a moving violation, you should check with your car insurance carrier about the benefits of attending a safe driving class. Many times you will have to pay to attend a four to six hour class but it will eliminate the addition of any points to your license. This may save you money in the long run by preventing your insurance rates from going up.