York Auto Insurance in New York

Like any other cities in New York, the basic understanding of your York auto insurance requirements can help you save time and money. This website provides you with the latest information on York car insurance news, tips and advices which will help you decide what type of coverage you need.

Minimum York Auto Insurance Requirements in New York

To own and drive a car in York, NY, you must first register your car and obtain a license plate. In order to do this, you must purchase an auto insurance policy with the minimum required coverage. The following are the types of minimum required insurance coverage or policy you need if you are a York resident planning to have your car registered.

  1. No-Fault

    The town of York follows the “No-Fault” law. In fact, this policy is applied in the entire New York state. No-Fault, also known as Personal Injury Protection (PIP) requires an auto insurance provider or company to shoulder medical bills and lost income of the policy holder or anyone injured inside the policy holder’s car. No-Fault coverage also covers anyone who sustained injury caused by the same insured vehicle, regardless of who might have caused the vehicular accident or mishap. An insurance company or provider can pay up to $50,000 per person. Claims caused by auto accidents can only be considered for economic losses outside the No-Fault coverage as well as for non-economic damages such as severe pain, and physical and mental distress only if there is a “serious injury,” under the regulations set by the New York State Insurance Department.

  2. Liability (Bodily Injury and Property Damage Liability)

    Liability coverage offers protection to the policy holder if a person, a third-party, files a claim against him. This protection also applies to anyone permitted by a policy holder to drive his vehicle or car. Should an insured vehicle be involved in a mishap causing property damage, severe injury or death, liability coverage will shoulder the third-party. The auto insurance company must also provide legal defense against claims without lowering the coverage limit of a policyholder.

    The minimum limits of liability coverage as authorized by The New York State Vehicle and Traffic Law are as follows:

    • Third-party bodily injury not resulting in death sustained by one person per accident: $25,000
    • Any kind of injury causing death received by one person per accident: $50,000
    • Property damage per accident: $10,000
    • The minimum limits are commonly known in New York as “25/50/10”.
  3. Uninsured Motorist Bodily Injury
    This type of coverage pays for bodily injury resulting in car accidents or vehicular mishaps within the entire state of New York. An auto insurance company provides bodily injury protection for a policy holder and his passengers, should they get injured by a collision with an uninsured vehicle or a hit-and-run driver. Damage to the policy holder’s vehicle or to other property is not covered by uninsured motorist bodily injury.

It is important to know the basic types of required auto insurance coverage in your town or city before you proceed to registration.

Local auto insurance quotes in your area

AutoQuoteNow.com can help you compare car insurance quotes for auto insurance coverage in all of the following ZIP codes in York


Advertisement List