Cambridge Auto Insurance in New York

If you're looking forward to receive free Cambridge auto insurance quotes with no obligation whatsoever, then this website is right for you. Our partners from different reputable Cambridge car insurance providers will furnish you a comparison quotes with the latest and most affordable quotes available today.

Understanding the Basics of Cambridge Auto Insurance in New York

If you reside in Cambridge, New York and you are planning to register your brand new car to obtain a license plate, you should first procure an auto insurance policy with the required coverage by the state of New York. Read on to know more about the basic types of auto insurance coverage needed by Cambridge residents.

Required Basic Auto Insurance Coverage in New York

  1. No-Fault Coverage

    With regard to automobile insurance policies, the entire state of New York complies with the "No-Fault" law. This type of law is also called Personal Injury Protection (PIP). Under this No-Fault coverage, your auto insurance provider immediately pays you and anyone injured in your car up to $50,000 per person, regardless of who might be the cause of the mishap or accident. This coverage also includes any pedestrians who sustained injury caused by your vehicle or car. Under this No-Fault law, claims caused by auto accidents can only be filed for economic losses beyond the No-Fault coverage and for non-economic damage such as psychological suffering or trauma only if a "serious injury," as indicated by the New York State Insurance Department, occurs.

  2. Liability Coverage (Bodily Injury and Property Damage Liability)

    This type of coverage protects you or anyone you authorized to drive your vehicle during the time of a vehicular accident, if a claim is filed against you by a third-party, accusing that your vehicle or automobile caused the accident or you were negligent when driving. Liability coverage will pay the third-party, should your vehicle be involved in an accident that causes property damage, serious injury or even death. Your insurance provider must also give you legal defense against the third-party's claims, without reducing the limits of your policy or coverage.

    The New York State Vehicle and Traffic Law mandate the minimum limits of liability coverage as follows:

    • $25,000 for third-party bodily injury not resulting in death received by one person per accident
    • $50,000 for any type of injury resulting in death received by one person per accident
    • $10,000 for property damage per accident

    These 3 minimum limits are sometimes referred to as 25/50/10.

  3. Uninsured Motorist Bodily Injury Coverage

    Uninsured motorist bodily injury coverage applies only to bodily injury caused by accidents within the state of New York and does not cover damage to your car or to other property. Under this type of coverage, your insurer provides bodily injury protection for you as well as for family members who live with you, and other passengers in your car should you or they receive injury caused by an uninsured vehicle or a hit-and-run driver.

These are just some of the basic types of auto insurance coverage required in the state of New York.

Local auto insurance quotes in your area can help you compare car insurance quotes for auto insurance coverage in all of the following ZIP codes in Cambridge


Advertisement List