Rochester Auto Insurance in Michigan

Ignorance is definitely not bliss when it comes to Rochester auto insurance laws. It is every Rochester driver's responsibility to be aware of all the implemented Rochester car insurance laws. This way, full protection and satisfaction is guaranteed for every driver in Rochester, Michigan.

Get Acquainted With the Mandatory Rochester Auto Insurance Laws in Michigan

Ignorance of the basic auto insurance laws can be very costly and a lot of motorists out there learned this fact the hard way. You see, the state of Michigan is very strict when it comes to enforcing its auto insurance laws. Even if you live in the suburbs of Rochester, you cannot escape the long arms of the law. As mandated by State laws, all drivers need to keep a copy of their Michigan car insurance certificate in their vehicles and present this certificate to law enforcement agents when asked to do so. Law enforcement agents especially those working around heavily populated areas like Rochester are under strict instructions to impose sanctions on drivers who are caught driving without valid auto insurance.

What will happen if you are not able to present a valid Rochester car insurance policy when asked to do so by law enforcement agents? Failure to present valid Rochester can insurance policy may lead to suspension of your driver's license. This suspension may last for weeks or even months depending on the gravity of the situation. In some instances, law enforcement agents may recommend cancellation of your driver's license. Aside from suspending your license to drive, the state can also refuse to renew your car registration until such time when you can present a valid car insurance coverage. As a matter of policy, the state of Michigan will only renew your car registration if you can show proof that your car is insured for six months. Moreover, you will have to pay the penalty of $50 and other mandatory fees before renewing your car registration.

Will you be exempt from paying fines and penalties if you can present proof of valid car insurance a day after being caught driving without insurance? No, you are not exempt from paying fines and penalties. The law clearly states that all drivers should keep a copy of their insurance certificate in their vehicles for inspection. Failure to follow this provision of the law will cause you to be liable by paying fines and penalties.

Are you required to get Rochester car insurance even if you drive a rented car? The law does not admit any exemptions when it comes to car insurance coverage. If you drive a car, it is necessary to have coverage. All car rental companies around Rochester will not let you drive any of their vehicles if you do not have at least minimum coverage required under the law. This means that before you can rent a car in this part of the state, you need to get $20,000 minimum bodily injury coverage per person, $40,000.00 coverage for bodily injury liability for all injuries in one accident, and $10,000 coverage for property damage liability. Fortunately, most major credit cards can take care of your car insurance needs. Just use a major credit card when paying for your car rentals and your credit card provider will take care of the rest.

Local auto insurance quotes in your area can help you compare car insurance quotes for auto insurance coverage in all of the following ZIP codes in Rochester

48309, 48308, 48307, 48306.

Advertisement List