Auto Insurance » All States » VA-Virginia Auto Insurance

Virginia Auto Insurance Quotes

If you want to obtain information regarding auto insurance coverage in Virginia along with the price quotes then you have come to the correct place. There is a lot of information that has been put together in a comprehensive manner. Here, you can get information on the type of coverage and the mandatory insurance cover that is required in the state of Virginia. You can also find out the coverage that is optional. If you get to know the auto insurance laws that prevail in this state you will have a better understanding of the type of cover you will need to drive around legally. It is important to know how to protect yourself as well as your assets in the event of being involved in an accident. There are a number of auto insurance companies that are authorized to sell insurance policies to the motorists in Virginia and you can purchase these policies here.

Virginia Liability Insurance Requirements

Virginia requires that all motorists maintain liability insurance coverage on their vehicles.  This goes for any registered vehicle, whether it is being used or not.  Liability insurance covers you in the event that you are involved in an automobile accident and bodily injuries or property damage are caused.  Bodily injuries for one person in one accident must be covered by a minimum of $25,000 in liability insurance.  All bodily injuries in one accident must be covered by a minimum of $50,000 in liability insurance.  The minimum required coverage for property damage is $20,000 in liability insurance.  Virginia also requires that motorists purchase and maintain uninsured motorist coverage for all registered vehicles.

Discounts Available

Although auto insurance is an expensive affair, there are ways and means to avail discounts. You can avail discounts if you are a motorist who is 55 years of age and still driving. Senior citizens can avail discounts and almost all companies offer discounts for senior citizens depending on a number of factors such as the miles driven annually, the place they drive around etc.

Motorists, who have volunteered to take a safe driving course and completed a course such as a Motor Vehicle Accident Prevention Course that has been approved by the Department of Motor Vehicles, will be able to avail discounts. This is due to the fact that anyone who has completed such a course will obviously turn out to be better drivers and will pose less of a risk for fellow motorists, and pedestrians and the roads would be much safer.

Motorists who are full-time students or those below the age of 25 can avail discounts if they can prove that they have got good grades. Having good grades will help qualify students for discounts. Very often insurers associate having good grades with being responsible and mature enough and offer students discounts on their auto insurance premiums.

You may also be eligible for discounts if you insure more than one car driven by members residing at the same address as the primary applicant. Discounts are generally offered by all insurance companies when more than one vehicle is insured with the same insurer.

Having a good driving record with no moving violations or at-fault accidents will help avail discounts too.

Virginia Proof of Insurance

You are required to maintain proof of valid insurance coverage in Virginia.  The Department of Motor Vehicles has an electronic reporting system that allows insurance carriers to share information about policy renewals, changes, and cancellations.  If there is a discrepancy, you may be asked to send in valid proof of insurance.  You also need to carry proof of insurance in your vehicle at all times in case you are involved in an accident or pulled over for a traffic violation.  This proof of insurance is usually in the form of a current insurance identification card that includes your name, the name of your insurance company, the liability limits on your policy, your vehicle's description, and the effective and expiration dates of the policy.

Penalties for Driving Without Insurance

Insurance must be maintained on your vehicle at all times, even if you take it off the road for repairs.  If you do not have valid insurance, there are several penalties that can be imposed.  You may have to pay a $500 fee and other reinstatement fees.  Your driver's license and vehicle registration can be suspended.  You may also have to file an SR-22 (financial responsibility insurance certificate) for a period of three years.

Useful Tips To Save On Auto Insurance

Many people think that auto insurance is very expensive, but fail to realize that there are ways to work around it and avail good discounts from the insurer. Insurance companies in general, offer a lot of discounts to policyholders. However, it is up to you to do the homework and negotiate a good deal with your insurance provider.

Raising the deductible for instance, will help you avail huge discounts on your auto insurance premiums. You must ensure that you have the complete list of deductibles that you qualify for, in order to ensure that it is factored into the cost while you shop for insurance.

First, make a list of things that you would need in your coverage and then decide on the right policy and coverage etc. You must ideally shop for coverage that is needed and avoid all the unnecessary ones. This will help in bringing down the premiums to a very large extent. For instance, if you have an older vehicle that is not worth a lot, you could simply scrap all the additional cover that is not needed. If you have health & disability insurance, you could easily avoid PIP cover. This will help save a huge amount on the premiums.