Virginia Auto Insurance Coverage


Auto insurance is a legal requirement in most states across the country, but the type of insurance drivers must purchase varies slightly from state to state. Virginia has its own unique set of insurance requirements, and drivers new to the state need to educate themselves about the specific laws in Virginia to ensure they purchase the appropriate coverage. This article will offer specific requirements for Virginia auto insurance to help drivers shop for the best coverage for their needs.

Liability Insurance

Virginia, like most other states, requires drivers to carry a minimum amount of liability insurance. Liability coverage is broken down into two categories; bodily injury liability and property damage liability. Bodily injury liability protects other drivers who are injured or killed by your vehicle. It includes medical expenses and lost wages. In the event the case goes to court, bodily injury liability can also include legal expenses and compensation for pain and suffering.

Property damage liability most often applies to another vehicle that is damaged by yours in an accident. However, it can also refer to other types of property, like fences or houses that were damaged. Property damage liability can also cover court costs, if you are sued during an accident settlement. Virginia requires a minimum amount of bodily injury liability of $25,000 with a $50,000 limit. Property damage must be a minimum of $20,000 with a $20,000 limit.

Uninsured Motorist Coverage

If you are in an accident with a motorist that does not have current auto insurance, the cost to you can be too large to handle. That is why Virginia requires all drivers to carry uninsured motorist coverage. Uninsured motorist bodily injury coverage protects you in the event you are injured in an accident with an uninsured motorist. The minimum amount of this coverage is $25,000 with a $50,000 limit. Uninsured motorist property damage covers your car and any other property damaged by an uninsured vehicle. The minimum requirement for this coverage is $20,000 with a $20,000 limit.

Beyond the basic requirements in Virginia, drivers can also opt for collision and comprehensive to protect their vehicles and personal injury protection to cover them. It is important to understand all of these different coverages before shopping around for the best rates to ensure you get sufficient coverage for your needs. For example, people without adequate health and disability insurance may opt for personal injury protection, while those with comprehensive health insurance may feel they do not need this additional coverage. With the right information in hand, drivers can tailor an insurance policy to their unique needs and budget.