Kansas Auto Insurance Quotes
If you are shopping around for Kansas auto insurance coverage requirements, you have come to the right site that gives you total solutions and most competitive price quotes on Kansas auto insurance policies. We guide you in complying with the financial responsibility requirements of Kansas. If you familiarize yourself with all the information provided by us on Kansas auto insurance requirements, you'll not only protect your vehicle registration and driver license but also avoid penal action by the Kansas DMV. You can also obtain premium quotes for Kansas auto insurance from several auto insurance carriers in this state.
Kansas state auto insurance laws also prescribe minimum mandatory insurance just like any other state in the US. Auto insurance is an absolute necessity and every motorist should avail auto insurance in order to drive around legally anywhere in the US. Before you decide to drive around, it is important that you are aware of the state laws as each state has its own unique requirements. The minimum required is decided by the Insurance Commissioner of each state.
Kansas Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Coverage
Kansas auto insurance laws also require motorists to carry uninsured and underinsured motorist coverage. This helps offer protection to drivers in the event of being involved in an accident and in case the opposite party is not adequately cover or uninsured. The minimum UIM/UM coverage is $50,000 per accident and $25,000 per person.
Kansas is a Tort state and they don’t have the no-fault laws here. Hence, the driver at fault will have to pay for medical expenses. The victim in this case, will also have the privilege to file for compensation and loss of wages along with pain and suffering as well.
Distracted Driver and Teen Laws
In the state of Kansas, you can be charged with OWI or Operating While Intoxicated in your BAC or Blood Alcohol Content is 0.08%. Kansas follows the implied consent law and in case you are pulled over on suspicion of OWI and in case you refuse to cooperate and go through the test, your license may be suspended for a period of one year.
The first DUI offense will attract a fine of around $500 to $1,000 with 2 days imprisonment or 100 hours of community service. The license would be suspended for a period of one month and there might be a 330-day license restriction following suspension. Your vehicle may also be impounded for a period of one year. A second DUI offense will lead to 90-days imprisonment and it can go up to a year with a fine of $1,000 to 1,500. Your license would be suspended for a year. The implied consent law is also applicable in the state of Kansas and if you are pulled over on suspicions of OWI and if you don’t submit to a chemical test, your license will be suspended for a year.
An SR-22 will typically be required in order to reinstate the suspended license.
The number of accidents as a result of distracted driving has increased sharply in the recent times. The Kansas legislature is also considering bringing in a number of Distracted Driver Laws.
Around 50% of the motorists between 18 and 24 years of age admitted to texting messages while operating a motor vehicle. A majority of the accidents are caused due to distracted driving. At present, 6 states have banned the use of wireless handheld devices while operating a vehicle. There are complete or partial bans on texting in around 25 states as of now.
Almost all states have their own Distracted Driver laws in place now. As per the Kansas Senate Bill 351, texting is prohibited while driving. If a driver is caught using a cellphone while driving, he/she may face stiff fines or even serve a jail term, especially if it is proved that the accident was caused due to distraction while driving.
Hence, the best thing to do would be to avoid the use of cellphones while driving in order to avoid fines and imprisonment as well.
Teen drivers require Graduated Driver Licensing or GDL as per the Kansas auto insurance laws for teen drivers. You should be at least 14 years old to obtain a learners permit for which you will need proof of identity and age proof. The teenage driver will have to enroll in a state-approved driver education program and also go through a vision test. When the teenage driver turns 15 they are allowed to practice driving with a licensed adult. The restricted license could be availed at this stage. In order to obtain this license, the teenage driver has to pass a vision test. While obtaining both these permits, a parent or guardian will have to provide written consent.After the teenage driver turns 16, they are entitled to apply for a fulltime Indiana driver’s license as long as there are no violations. In order to obtain a full license, the teenage driver should have completed at least 50 hours of supervised driving. It is essential that they complete the driver education course and maintain a clean driving record for a period of six months.
Apart from this, there are a number of teen driver restrictions that need to be adhered to very strictly; failing which there would be unnecessary delays in obtaining the full license.
Kansas Auto Insurance Minimums
Kansas auto insurance mandates all motorists to carry liability insurance and also provide proof of insurance when asked for it. Hence, every motorist must carry proof of insurance at all times and if anyone is caught driving without a valid auto insurance, they may be found guilty of Class ‘B’ misdemeanor. The person may also be fined anywhere between $300 and $1,000 and may face imprisonment for up to six months. If there is a second offense, it would be considered a Class ‘A’ misdemeanor and will carry a minimum fine of $800 and may go up to $2,500.
The minimum liability coverage for Kansas auto insurance is $25,000 for bodily injury per person, $50,000 for all injuries, and $10,000 for damage to property. The minimum PIP coverage as prescribed by state laws is $4,500 towards medical costs per person, disability coverage of $900 per month for a period of one year, rehab expenses of $4,500, funeral expenses of $2,000, and in-home services of $25 for a period of one year.
Getting the best deals
In order to get some of the hottest deals, you may shop online for auto insurance. Obtain multiple quotes and carry out a comparison of quotes before you decide. Once you are absolutely sure, you may go ahead and purchase the policy from any of the licensed insurance carriers in your state.
More Insurance Online
Auto Insurance Guide
- Kansas Auto Insurance Basics
- Kansas Auto Insurance Coverage
- Kansas Auto Insurance Discounts
- Kansas Factors that Affect Insurance Rates
- Kansas Driving and Traffic Laws
- Kansas Tips For Saving on Car Insurance
Auto Insurance in Kansas Cities
- Atlanta Auto Insurance
- Columbus Auto Insurance
- Washington Auto Insurance
- Richmond Auto Insurance
- Tampa Auto Insurance
- Kansas City Auto Insurance
- Nashville Auto Insurance
- Arlington Auto Insurance
- Minneapolis Auto Insurance
- Aurora Auto Insurance
- Buffalo Auto Insurance
- Franklin Auto Insurance
- Hartford Auto Insurance
- Lincoln Auto Insurance
- Clearwater Auto Insurance
- Erie Auto Insurance
- Lansing Auto Insurance
- Cambridge Auto Insurance
- Hamilton Auto Insurance
- Hanover Auto Insurance
- Hudson Auto Insurance
- Independence Auto Insurance
- Oxford Auto Insurance
- Reading Auto Insurance
- Sterling Auto Insurance