According to the Kansas State driving laws, persons above the age of 16 would be able to obtain unrestricted driver’s license, if they are able to prove through an affidavit that they had completed a minimum of 50 hours of practice driving. This practice driving should be under the supervision of a person above the age of 21 with a valid driving license. Further, out of these 50 hours, at least 10 hours should include driving at night under supervision. If no affidavit is provided, the restrictions for license would continue until the driver reaches the age of 17. Further, if there are two or more traffic violations during this period, the license would become restricted until the age of 17.
Even though the Driver’s License Bureau in Kansas State would not require an actual log for the 50 hours of driving, it would be better to maintain a log, in case proof is required. If the affidavit is submitted to an examiner in the Bureau, the examiner would return the affidavit after scrutinizing it. If it is sent by mail to the Bureau, the affidavit would not be returned. Further, in this state, other types of permits like instruction permit, restricted license and farm permits are also available. These licenses would be valid until the driver reaches the age of 21. After the twenty-first birthday of the driver, the Driving License Bureau would automatically update the computerized records and remove the restrictions for under-age. However, this would happen only when all the criteria for removing the restrictions had been properly met.
Any person applying for a driving license in Kansas State should undergo a vision screening, a written knowledge test, and a test of driving skills. These tests evaluate the capacity of a person to understand traffic signs and signals and recognize road conditions. Even if you do not pass the vision test, you could have an eye test by an approved optometrist or ophthalmologist for correction of the vision and then apply again with the appropriate certificate. The knowledge test would verify about your understanding of the traffic laws and road rules. The driving skills test would be conducted by an examiner of the Driver’s License Bureau to find out whether you possess reasonable skill in handling a vehicle.
In Kansas State, a driver found driving a vehicle under the influence of alcohol and the alcohol content is 0.04 or more, the driver would be disqualified for one year for the first time conviction. If the driver refuses to undergo a blood alcohol test, then also the one year disqualification would apply. If the driver commits a felony with a commercial vehicle, again the driving license would be revoked for one year. If the driver is found to be transporting hazardous materials, the revocation would increase to 3 years.
The vehicle could be impounded for 24 hours for traffic violations like parking violations, expired vehicle registration tags, expired driver licenses, and arrest of the driver for any criminal offense when in a car. On the other hand, driver license violation, drag racing, and reckless driving could result in the car getting impounded for 30 days.