The minimum rates for trucks vary from car insurance company to another. It depends primarily on a policy holder’s driving history or record. The types of discounts he also applied for has a big influence on the premium he will get. Under Utah law, however, has the basic Liability limits of 25/65/15. The law under this state also requires motorists to carry both a Bodily Injury Liability and Property Damage Liability policies to help policy holders pay for the damages that a car accident might cause them.
Bodily Injury Liability pays for any claims made involving bodily injuries caused in an accident. The minimum rate that Utah requires is a $25,000 per person and $65,000 for two or more persons. The Property Damage Liability speaks for itself. It pays for all the properties that are damaged or are the aftermaths of an accident. The minimum required amount is $15,000 per person.
Aside from that, Utah law also requires a minimum of $25,000 per person and $65,000 more 2 or more persons for an Uninsured or an Underinsured motorists. This is to make sure that a motorist (the driver and his passengers considered) is protected against damage from those who are driving with underinsured insurances.
Those that are mentioned above are the minimum requirements of the state of Utah to someone with a 1995 truck. But if in case your truck is still being financed or is still under the rules of a loan, then it might be that your lien holder will require you to carry physical damage coverage or Collision and Comprehensive policies to protect their investments. But bear in mind that the state of Utah does not require these optional coverage especially if the vehicle is already under your name.
Although the law regarding insurance for trucks differs from state to state, the goal, which is to protect the driver including his passenger, is the same. What you need to do is to make sure that you keep a clean driving record. Having a clean one, will, in return, give the option to avail of discounts which will eventually lower the minimum required premium for any vehicle you might want to insure. Remember that even though car insurances take a big chunk off you monthly budget, the advantage of it during an accident is far more worth the monthly bills, not to mention it is considered illegal nowadays not to have one.