Drivers in the State of Connecticut are required by law to have an auto insurance. You could face hefty fines if you drive around the state without a valid auto insurance or you let someone, who does not have insurance, to drive your vehicle.
The State of Connecticut will refuse to register your vehicle if you do not have a proof of insurance. Auto insurance is not that hard to buy in this area but the question remains if can you afford it or not.
Furthermore, you could also face substantial fines and worst put you behind bars if your insurance coverage in inadequate for the damages sustained. You could lose your driver’s license in the process and you will have to pay all the damages out from your own pocket, which could further endanger your resources.
Many insurance providers have sprung in Connecticut for the past few years. The competition between insurance companies will provide you many options from discounts to privileges. Different insurance providers offer different rates, which is why it is important not to rely on one insurance quote alone. Collect as many quotes as you can from the internet or from their agents or brokers and then choose the best coverage that will suit to your needs.
There is a required minimum liability coverage in Connecticut. The bodily injury coverage should have at least $40,000 per accident while $20,000 per person. The $10,000 is for the damage to property. Additionally, there is the Uninsured and Underinsured Motorist coverage with a minimum of $20,000 per person, injured or killed, and $40,000 per accident.
The main function of liability auto insurance is the protection it gives to you from being sued because of your negligence while driving. Uninsured or underinsured coverage is applicable if the driver at-fault does not have an insurance or his insurance is not enough to cover the expenses incurred in the accident.
Because the minimum liability coverage set by the state will mostly likely not sufficient to cover extreme damages, the Connecticut Insurance Department urges people to purchase insurance policies that are a bit higher from what the state requires.
It is also possible that you can purchase additional policies or perhaps double the amount of your liability coverage plus the uninsured and underinsured coverage. This offers a complete peace of mind if party at-fault cannot afford to pay for the medical bills and repairs and not leaving you or your family at their mercy.
Additional policies that most drivers have are the Collision and Comprehensive coverage. They are particularly useful but you should think it first if you can afford it in the first place.
While purchasing these additional policies is not mandatory in Connecticut, they still provide a big help and relief during accidents. Many lives have been spared and families freed from unnecessary worries by simply having them. If they are too heavy to add to your current expenses, you can always look for ways to get the best coverage and ideal rates of auto insurance in Connecticut.