If you are a resident of the state of Utah, you should acquaint yourself with the rules of the road so you are not surprised if you are pulled over by a police officer. And
Knowing the driving and traffic laws in the state of Utah ahead of time will keep you from making some costly mistakes. Obeying traffic laws will keep you and your family safe as well as prevent unnecessary increases on your insurance coverage as well as save you money on traffic tickets and fines.
In the state of Utah, you are assessed points for traffic violations, moving and non-moving. Not all are reported to your insurance agency. If you reach 200 points in a three year period you could have your license suspended or revoked for up to one year. You might also have to take a defensive driving class from the Utah Safety Council. And if you are under 21 years of age, you only need 70 points to lose your license.
Some of the points given out for traffic violations are: reckless driving (80), speeding (35-75), tailgating (60), failure to yield right-of-way (60) and running a red light or stop sign (50). These points will result in higher insurance premiums and can stay on your record for up to three years. You may be able to have some points taken off your record if you take a defensive driving class.
You risk having your license suspended, revoked or denied if you are caught driving while under the influence of drugs or alcohol, if you refuse to take a drug test, it there has been an automobile homicide or if there was a reckless driving charge related to alcohol or drug use while driving.
Utah has a zero tolerance law regarding driving under the influence or DUI. You are considered driving under the influence if you have a blood alcohol level of 0.08% or more. A first offense will result in suspension of your license and fees will be assessed. If you are under the age of 21 and stopped for suspicion of DUI you fall into the “Not a Drop” law and your license will be automatically suspended for 90 days.
The speed limits in Utah are 75 mph for limited access rural interstates for cars and trucks, 65 mph for limited access urban interstates. The driver and passengers must wear a seat belt while driving on the roads in Utah and children from birth until 5 years of age must be in approved car safety seats. Children from five years old until 15 must use seat belts while passengers in a moving vehicle.
There are currently not any laws regarding the use of cell phones while driving however if you were stopped by a police officer you could be accused of careless driving.