Utah Auto Insurance Quotes
If you've been spending a lot of time looking for comprehensive information and free price quotes on Utah auto insurance, your search is over. You've found the best place for information and quotes on Utah auto insurance policies. Before buying a policy, you can learn about what coverage is required to keep your vehicle legal on Utah's roadways. You will also learn about the penalties for failing to maintain the required coverage on your vehicle. Once you understand the auto insurance regulations in Utah, you can receive price quotes from several companies that are authorized to provide insurance coverage to Utah drivers.
Auto insurance is mandatory in all states in the US and each state has its minimum requirements that are set by the Insurance commissioner of the state. Despite the fact that it is mandatory there are a number of uninsured motorists on the road and they assume that auto insurance is an expensive affair.
There are ways and means where one can save on auto insurance. All you need to do is to find out the minimum required by the state and then sit with your insurance agent or your insurance provider and work out something that will suit your requirement. Merely abstaining from purchasing a policy will only get you into a huge financial mess in the event you are involved in a motor vehicle accident. More than anything, you should purchase the right amount of coverage as the minimum prescribed by the state will be insufficient to cover the damages.
The State Specified Thresholds in Utah
Each state has its mandated minimum coverage and the Utah auto insurance minimums are $25,000 for bodily injury per person, $65,000 per accident, $15,000 for damage to property, and $3,000 for PIP coverage. As per the state laws in Utah all drivers in each and every household are required to carry the minimum liability insurance as well as proof of insurance with them at all times.
If the vehicle is not properly insured, it will result in Class ‘B’ misdemeanor and will possibly attract a fine of $400 and will also lead to suspension of license.
Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Coverage
Although Utah does not require the uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage, policyholders are always advised to obtain this coverage. This coverage helps in offering protection to the driver in the event of being involved in an accident where the other person does not have sufficient auto insurance coverage.
Utah is a Tort state and hence you don’t have to carry no-fault insurance. In Tort states, the driver who is at fault will have to bear the medical expenses of the victim. The victim may also pursue compensation for loss in wages as well as pain and suffering.
Teen Driving Laws in Utah
Utah has also adopted the GDL or Graduated Driver Licensing system like many other states. This is a system that will help in lowering the number of accidents caused due to teenage drivers who have little or no experience behind the wheel. The system will help in introducing inexperienced drivers to the privileges of driving, but in a gradual manner. With the help of this system, teenage drivers will gain valuable experience behind the wheel and that will help them obtain their Utah driver’s license ultimately.
Aspirants must be at least 15 years of age and should obtain the consent of a parent or legal guardian. The applicant should also provide proof of age, identity, and residency.
Teenage drivers who get hold of the learner’s permit should complete a minimum of 40 hours of driving practice including 10 hours of nighttime driving. After all these conditions have been met, the teenage driver may then apply for an unrestricted Utah driver’s license. In order to obtain that, the individual should pass a road skills test.
Teen driver restrictions in Utah
Teenage drivers are advised to strictly follow the guidelines with regard to the teen driver restrictions in Utah. Failure to comply with the regulations or violating the rules could result in stiff penalties as well as license suspension. This may cause unnecessary delays in obtaining the Utah driver’s license.
Permit holders should be accompanied by a parent or legal guardian who has a valid license and the supervising adult must be seated in the front passenger seat at all times. Teenage drivers are also not allowed to drive between 12 a.m. and 5 a.m. unless they are accompanied by an adult who is at least 21 years of age or above and must hold a valid license.
Permit holders who are below 17 years of age are not allowed to ferry passengers other than siblings, unless they are accompanied by a licensed driver who is around 21 year of age or older.
DUI Laws in Utah
In the state of Utah, you will be charged for DUI or Driving under Influence if your Blood Alcohol Content or BAC is 0.08%, which is the minimum known to impair a person.
For the first DUI offense in Utah, you can face imprisonment for a minimum period of 48 hours and will be required to do community service for a period of two days, or will be confined to your home for a period of two days. You will be slapped with a fine of $700 with a 120-day license suspension. For the second DUI offense in Utah, you will face a jail term for around ten days or you would be required to do community service for a period of ten days. The minimum fine under such circumstances would be $800 with a two-year license suspension.
Since, Utah follows the implied consent law, you could be pulled over under suspicion for DUI and in case you refuse to undergo a chemical test, your license would be suspended for a period of 18 months, and you will face a two-year license suspension for subsequent refusals.
Distracted Driver Laws in Utah
Statistics have shown that there is a sharp increase in the number of accidents that are caused due to distracted drivers. Hence, most of the states are coming up with stringent laws to curtail this problem, including Utah. The Utah House Bill 290 prohibits the use of cellphones for texting messages while driving. Presently, there are 6 states that have already banned the use of any handheld wireless device while driving. Although no state has passed a law that has completely banned the use of cell phones, around 25 states have issued complete or partial bans on texting while driving. So, it is best to avoid the use of cell phones while driving.
The best way to obtain auto insurance is by shopping online. This will help you get some of the best deals and you can also save an incredible amount of time and money.
More Insurance Online
Auto Insurance Guide
- Utah Auto Insurance Basics
- Utah Auto Insurance Coverage
- Utah Auto Insurance Discounts
- Utah Factors that Affect Insurance Rates
- Utah Driving and Traffic Laws
- Utah Tips For Saving on Car Insurance
Auto Insurance in Utah Cities
- Washington Auto Insurance
- Richmond Auto Insurance
- Cleveland Auto Insurance
- Aurora Auto Insurance
- Riverside Auto Insurance
- Glendale Auto Insurance
- Salem Auto Insurance
- Salt Lake City Auto Insurance
- Huntsville Auto Insurance
- Plymouth Auto Insurance
- Providence Auto Insurance
- Sterling Auto Insurance
- Trenton Auto Insurance