The first thing you should do if you are moving to a new location is to acquaint yourself with the rules of the road in that state. Many of the laws are the same but the consequences for breaking the rules of the road vary from state to state. The following driving and traffic laws pertain specifically to the state of West Virginia.
In order to cut down on the number of alcohol related fatalaties, West Virginia has a minimum legal drinking age of 21.They have a Zero Tolerance Law regarding anyone who is under the age of 21 who has a positive blood alcohol level. This law has already cut the number of DUI accidents that have resulted in fatalities by 4 percent. If you fail to take a blood alcohol test your license will immediately be revoked.
You are considered driving under the influence if you have a blood alcohol level that is .10% or higher but you could still be considered DUI if your blood alcohol level is more than 0.5% as it is assumed that you may have already been driving while impaired. A first offense will get you a suspended license for 6 months to one year, a minimum $100 fine and a minimum of 1 day in jail or community service.
Traffic violations in the state of West Virginia, as is the case in most states, will result in points on your license. The points run from 8 points – fleeing from an officer – to 2 points -following too closely. When you accumulate 12-13 points your license will be suspended for 30 days; 14-15 points will get you a 45 day suspension, 16-17 points, 60 days and 18-19 points means you lose your license for 90 days.
Wearing a seatbelt is mandatory for all drivers, all passengers in the front seat and all back seat passengers that are under the age of 18. Children and infants under the age of eight and shorter than four feet nine inches must be in an approved child safety seat or you could be fined up to $20. Older children from age 8 to 15 must be seated in the vehicle using a booster seat or an adult safety belt.
Cell phone use while driving is illegal if you are under 18 years of age and have a level one instruction permit or a level two intermediate license.
If you get a moving violation, you should check with your car insurance carrier about the benefits of attending a safe driving class. Many times you will have to pay to attend a four to six hour class but it will eliminate the addition of any points to your license. This may save you money in the long run by preventing your insurance rates from going up.