While the consequences for breaking the rules of the road vary from state to state, most of the main guidelines apply. The following driving and traffic laws pertain specifically to the State of Delaware.
Delaware is one of 11 states who have made it against the law to drive aggressively. You will be cited for aggressive driving if you meet at least three of the following conditions: you failed to heed a traffic control device, passed on the right side, drove outside the lanes, made an unsafe lane change, followed another vehicle too closely, failed to yield the right of way and or were an immediate hazard to someone else or another vehicle.
Children and infants under the age of seven and weighing less than 66 pounds must be in an approved child safety seat or you could be fined $25. Older children from age 8 to 15 must be seated in the vehicle using an adult safety belt.
If you are caught driving under the influence of alcohol in the State of Delaware with a .16 blood alcohol level you can lose your drivers license for three months with your first offense. The use of illegal drugs while operating a vehicle in the state of Delaware is also against the law. While it is harder to register, if there is any indication, you will be brought in for further testing.
The speed limits in effect on the rural interstates and urban roads in Delaware are all at 55 mph. The only exception is on other limited access roads where the speed limit is 65 mph. And it doesn’t matter if workers are present or not, fines are doubled if you speed through a construction site.
Any violation that occurs while you are driving is considered a moving violation – running a red light, speeding, and failure to come to a complete stop at a stop sign. Other instances are considered non-moving violations like having a headlight that is out or a signal light that is not working correctly.
If you get a moving violation, you should check with your car insurance carrier about the benefits of attending a safe driving class. Many times you will have to pay to attend a four to six hour class but it will eliminate the addition of any points to your license. This may save you money in the long run by preventing your insurance rates from going up.
If you have a more serious traffic violation, and you feel like you have been unjustly accused, you may want to hire an attorney who specializes in traffic issues.