Wyoming Auto Insurance Quotes
If you've been looking for the most accurate information and best price quotes on Wyoming auto insurance, you've come to the right place. Before purchasing a Wyoming auto insurance policy, you should research the laws regarding auto insurance coverage. Find out what is required and what is considered optional. You should also consider your financial circumstances in determining what type of policy you want to purchase. When you have your desired coverages in mind, you can search for quotes from several carriers that are able to offer insurance in Wyoming.
Wyoming Liability Insurance Requirements
Wyoming is one of the many states that requires drivers to purchase and maintain liability coverage on all registered vehicles. This type of coverage will pay for bodily injuries and property damage caused by a motor vehicle accident. Minimum coverage amounts are required, but motorists can choose to enhance their coverage by purchasing more than the minimum policy. Bodily injuries for one person in one accident must be covered by a minimum of $25,000 in liability insurance. All bodily injuries in one accident must be covered by a minimum of $50,000 in liability coverage. Property damage must be covered by a minimum of $20,000 in liability coverage per accident. While some states requires drives to purchase personal injury protection or uninsured motorist coverage, Wyoming makes these optional for motorists.
Determining Financial Responsibility After an Accident
There are two ways that financial responsibility can be determined after an accident. In twelve states and Puerto Rico, the no-fault system is used. This means that insurance companies must pay the expenses of covered drivers regardless of who was at fault in an accident. This system is used in order to prevent some cases of auto insurance fraud. In Wyoming and many other states, the tort system is used for determining who must pay expenses following an accident. This means that the driver who caused the accident must pay accident expenses and may also be sued by accident victims in civil court.
Proof of Insurance in Wyoming
If you are involved in an accident or pulled over by a law enforcement officer, you will need to provide proof of insurance. This can be shown in the form of a current insurance card or a certificate that shows that a bond or deposit has been placed with the State Treasurer. In addition, Wyoming also compares a list of vehicles insured in Wyoming with individual vehicle registrations. If your vehicle is not on the list, you have 7 days to show valid proof of insurance.
Penalties for Driving Without Insurance
The penalties for driving without insurance in Wyoming are very severe. It is considered a misdemeanor crime and the penalties increase with each offense. The first offense will result in a fine of $250 to $750 and may also result in a jail sentence of up to 6 months. The second offense can result in 6 months in jail and a fine of $500 to $1,500. Until you have met all of the conditions imposed, you will have to turn in your vehicle registration and license plates.
More Insurance Online
Auto Insurance Guide
- Wyoming Auto Insurance Basics
- Wyoming Auto Insurance Coverage
- Wyoming Auto Insurance Discounts
- Wyoming Factors that Affect Insurance Rates
- Wyoming Driving and Traffic Laws
- Wyoming Tips For Saving on Car Insurance