When you register your vehicle in the state of Wyoming you must prove financial responsibility. This can be done by purchasing automobile insurance or any of the following methods: secure a bond with a surety company that is authorized to do business in your state; secure a bond with two individuals who own real estate in Wyoming; or deposit the equivalent of cash or securities in the amount of $25,000 with the state treasurer.
The insurance commissioner of each state determines the type and level of insurance liability that each driver must carry. While there are six major areas of coverage available for your auto insurance needs, the state dictates the bare minimum that you must have to drive in the state.
In order to drive on the roadways in Wyoming you must carry $25,000 in bodily injury protection per person; $50,000 in bodily injury coverage per accident; and $20,000 for property damage for each accident. These amounts are the highest level that your insurance company will pay for each level of coverage.
Bodily injury liability pays for the injuries or death of a person if you are responsible for an accident. Property damage coverage will pay for the repair and/or replacement of another person’s property that was damaged or destroyed as a result of an accident that you were responsible for.
PIP or personal injury protection, is coverage that although not mandatory, you should seriously consider including in your policy. It will cover the medical expenses for you, all relatives who live in your home, drivers who are authorized to drive your car, you and your family members if you are injured while in someone else’s car, and if you are a pedestrian hit by a vehicle.
Although these are what are required by your state, you may want to add additional coverage to further protect yourself and your family. One addition you might want to make is collision coverage. If you still owe money on your vehicle, your lender will require you to carry collision coverage to protect their investment.
Comprehensive coverage protects the value and replacement of your car in the event that it is damaged as a result of anything other than an accident, for example if your car is stolen, someone breaks into it or it suffers flood damage.
Uninsured or under-insured motorist coverage protects you if you get hit by someone who does not have any insurance coverage or not enough coverage to pay the required expenses. Uninsured motorist coverage also covers you if you are the victim of a hit and run accident.
You must carry proof of insurance in the state of Wyoming or if you have chosen an alternative method of financial responsibility, you must provide proof of that as well. If you are found to have no insurance coverage, you could be fined from $250-$750 and go to prison for six months on a first offense. A second offense will get you higher fines and could result in the loss of your registration and license plates until you can prove that you have the proper insurance coverage.