You must obey the rules of the road in order to drive safely in the state of Wyoming. Knowing these rules will save you money in fines as well as on your insurance premiums. While fines and sentences vary from state to state the actual laws are pretty much the same. Take the time to acquaint yourself with the driving and traffic laws in your state so you are prepared before anything goes wrong.
Wyoming, unlike most states, does not use a point system to determine consequences for driving infractions. It does recognize moving and nonmoving violations and has appropriate punishments for each.
Nonmoving violations result in a ticket which can be paid through the mail. You are not required to make any court appearance and the tickets are not reported against your driving record.
Moving violations – speeding, reckless driving, running a red light or a stop sign, racing and eluding a police officer – are all considered misdemeanors. If you rack up four misdemeanors within one year you will have your license suspended for up to 90 days depending on the violation.
Speed limits in the state of Wyoming are 75mph for interstate highways, 65mph on state highways, 30mph on urban roadways and 20mph in school zones. A first offense, depending on your speed, could get you a fine up to $200; a second offense up to $300; and any further violations are capped at $500.
If you are caught purposely racing in the streets you will be fined $100 for your first offense. Reckless driving charges will result in a $750 fine and your license will be suspended for 90 days with your first offense.
If you are caught driving without proof of insurance you could face fines of up to $750. You may even have your license suspended until you can provide proof of coverage.
Driving under the influence in Wyoming will get you a mandatory 90 day suspension of your driver’s license and up to $750 in fines for your first offense. You are considered DUI if your blood alcohol level is 0.08% or more.
To date, Wyoming does not have any restrictions regarding the use of cell phones while operating a motor vehicle.
You must wear a seat belt if you are the driver or a passenger in the front seat of a vehicle. You are not required to wear a seat belt if you are a United States postal employee delivering mail, have a medical excuse from your doctor or if all seat belts are already in use and one is not available for you to use.
Children under the age of 8 years old and who weigh less than 80 pounds must be in an approved safety seat. They must be seated in the rear seat unless there is no space available.