Vermont Auto Insurance Quotes
If you've been searching for the best place to find deals on Vermont auto insurance coverage, you can stop searching. You'll find comprehensive information about the auto insurance requirements in Vermont and learn what coverage is required and what coverage is optional. Once you have an idea of what coverage levels you need, you will be able to request price quotes from several different carriers that are licensed to offer auto insurance coverage to Vermont motorists.
Every state has its own rules when it comes to auto insurance. Although it is federally governed the state mandates are fixed by the Insurance Commissioner in each state. Various factors are taken into consideration while fixing the minimum liability coverage. The Insurance commissioner is the deciding authority with regard to auto insurance requirements. So, prior to purchasing your auto insurance policy and prior to obtaining quotes online, you should be aware of the state minimum.
Apart from the minimum required by the state, you may also purchase additional coverage according to your needs.The minimum required will never be sufficient to cover all the damages in the event of being involved in an accident.
Ensuring Valid Coverage
All states require motorists to carry the minimum liability coverage and Vermont mandates motorists in all households to have the necessary coverage as well as proof of insurance in the vehicle at all times. This has to be produced when they are asked for it by law enforcement authorities. Failure to provide proof of insurance coverage will result in the issuance of tickets, $100 penalty, as well as two points on the driving record.
In the state of Vermont the auto insurance minimums are $25,000 for bodily injury per person, $50,000 per accident, and $10,000 for damage to property.
Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Coverage
Although Vermont does not mandate the uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage, all motorists are advised to carry this coverage. This will offer protection in case the driver is involved in an accident with someone who does not have adequate coverage. It is also a coverage that can prove to be extremely useful in the event of being involved in a hit and run accident.
Since Vermont is a Tort state, you don't have to carry the no-fault insurance. In Tort states, the driver at fault will have to pay for the medical expenses of the victim. The victim also has the right to claim compensation for lost wages and pain and suffering as well.
Distracted Driver Laws in Vermont
Due to the steep increase in the number of accident as a result of distracted driving, most of the states are planning to bring out stricter laws regarding distracted driving with regard to cellphone usage. Young motorists admit to using their cellphones for texting messages while driving and it is a known fact that using the cellphone raises the risk of being involved in an accident by 23%. Presently, 6 states have banned the use of handheld devices such as cellphones while driving.
The Vermont legislature is planning to come out with a number of distracted driving laws with regard to cellphone usage. The Vermont House Bill 117 prohibits the use of cellphones while driving. Hence, the best thing to do would be to avoid the use of cellphones while driving in order to avoid paying hefty penalties.
Teen Driver Laws in Vermont
The state of Vermont also uses the Graduated Driver Licensing or GDL system for the teenage drivers. This system is aimed at reducing the risk on the roads and highways, by giving teenage drivers an opportunity to learn the nuances of driving in a far more systematic manner. It is a well-known fact that most of the accidents are caused due to inexperienced drivers. Hence, the introduction of this system is a boon as it will help teenage drivers to get introduced to the privileges of driving very gradually as they will have ample time to gain behind the wheel experience. This will ultimately help in getting the Vermont driver's license.
The aspirants must be at least 15 years of age. There are three steps involved in obtaining the license. The first step would be to obtain the Learner's Permit which would be followed by the Junior Operator License or JOL, and later on the Operator's License.
The permit holder should hold the permit for a minimum period of one year before they can apply for a JOL. During this phase, the permit holder should complete a minimum of 40 hours of behind the wheel training that is inclusive of 10 hours of nighttime driving as well. It is imperative that you maintain a clean driving record for a period of 6 months before you get hold of the JOL.
The teenage aspirants will have to produce a list of documents such as proof of identity, age, proof of insurance, written consent of parent or guardian, and pass a written as well as vision test.
JOL holders are also required to hold their licenses for a period of 6 months and they should not have any violations during that phase. After they are 18 years old, they can apply for the Operator's License.
Teen driver restrictions in Vermont
There are a number of restrictions that one must take note of as violation of rules could lead to suspension of licenses for up to 90 days. Vehicles cannot be operated by JOL holders as a means of employment for a period of one year. Permit holders are also supposed to drive only in the presence of an adult with a valid license, where the adult should be at least 25 years old.
DUI Laws in Vermont
You could be charged for DUI or Driving under Influence if the BAC or the Blood Alcohol Content is 0.08% and you can face a 2-year jail term with a fine of $750 and a 90-day suspension of license. Since, Vermont follows the implied consent law, you could be pulled over under suspicion of DUI and in case you don't submit to the test, you could face a license suspension for a period of 6 months.
In general, with every subsequent refusal or DUI offense, the penalties will go up even further and the duration of your jail term will increase.
Shopping online for auto insurance will help you save time and money.Apply for free online quotes and compare quotes from various insurance carriers, before taking a call. It is important to know the auto insurance basics as well as the state laws prior to obtaining a quote. The information provided by you should be accurate in order to get an accurate quote.
More Insurance Online
Auto Insurance Guide
- Vermont Auto Insurance Basics
- Vermont Auto Insurance Coverage
- Vermont Auto Insurance Discounts
- Vermont Factors that Affect Insurance Rates
- Vermont Driving and Traffic Laws
- Vermont Tips For Saving on Car Insurance
Auto Insurance in Vermont Cities
- Washington Auto Insurance
- Charlotte Auto Insurance
- Jacksonville Auto Insurance
- Richmond Auto Insurance
- Springfield Auto Insurance
- Arlington Auto Insurance
- Rochester Auto Insurance
- Concord Auto Insurance
- Bakersfield Auto Insurance
- Franklin Auto Insurance
- Hartford Auto Insurance
- Montgomery Auto Insurance
- Plymouth Auto Insurance
- Cambridge Auto Insurance
- Worcester Auto Insurance
- Bristol Auto Insurance
- Jamaica Auto Insurance
- Reading Auto Insurance