When you drive on the highways and byways of a state you must obey their rules of the road. While the consequences for breaking these rules vary from state to state, most of the main guidelines apply. The following driving and traffic laws pertain specifically to the state of Vermont.
Infants under the age of one who weigh less than 20 pounds must be seated in a rear facing approved safety car seat. Children who weigh over 20 pounds must ride in an approved car seat or a booster seat. And all kids from 8 to 15 must use an approved car seat or seat belt while a passenger in a vehicle in Vermont.
If you are caught driving under the influence of alcohol in the state of Vermont with a .08 blood alcohol level you can lose your drivers license for 90 days with your first offense. The state does have open container laws which mean it is illegal to drive with an open container that has alcohol or beer in it. If you are convicted of a DUI you run the risk of having your vehicle impounded.
The speed limits in effect on the rural interstates and urban roads in Vermont are all at 65 mph. The only exception is on other limited access roads where the speed limit is 55 mph. And it doesn’t matter if workers are present or not, fines are doubled if you speed through a construction site.
Any violation that occurs while you are driving is considered a moving violation – running a red light, speeding, and failure to come to a complete stop at a stop sign. Other instances are considered non-moving violations like having a headlight that is out or a signal light that is not working correctly.
If you get a moving violation, you should check with your car insurance carrier about the benefits of attending a safe driving class. Many times you will have to pay to attend a four to six hour class but it will eliminate the addition of any points to your license. This may save you money in the long run by preventing your insurance rates from going up.
At this time Vermont does not have any laws restricting the use of cell phones while driving a vehicle. They recommend common sense and encourage the use of a hands free headset device.
If you have a more serious traffic violation, and you feel like you have been unjustly accused, you may want to hire an attorney who specializes in traffic issues.