Mississippi Auto Insurance Quotes
If you do not know anything about the complete solutions and competitive price quotes on Mississippi auto insurance policies, you had come to the right place. We provide detailed information on the financial responsibility requirements of Mississippi and also updated information on Mississippi insurance regulations. You can protect your vehicle and your driver license without facing any problem when you have the information provided by us on Mississippi auto insurance requirements. You can also avoid penal action by Mississippi law enforcement officers. You can also get premium quotes from the major auto insurance carriers of Mississippi auto insurance from us.
Auto insurance is mandatory in all the states in the US. Every motorist should have the minimum auto insurance coverage in order to be able to drive around legally. Despite the fact that auto insurance laws are federally governed, the Mississippi auto insurance minimums are decided by the Insurance Commissioner. This is the case with every state and not just in the state of Mississippi alone. The Insurance Commissioner is the deciding authority with regards to the state's minimum. The minimum limit is fixed based on a lot of factors. Hence, it will vary largely from one state to another.
Auto Insurance Basic Requirements
Mississippi minimum liability coverage includes $25,000 for bodily injury per person, $50,000 bodily injury for all injuries, and $25,000 for damage to property. All drivers in the household must carry this minimum liability coverage. Motorists are also required to provide proof of insurance and they are expected to carry it in their vehicles at all times.
Mississippi does not require drivers to carry Uninsured or Underinsured Motorist Coverage. Although some states have made this coverage mandatory and even though this may not be mandatory in some states, this is an additional coverage that is really important and motorists are advised to take this coverage. If you have the UM or UIM coverage your policy will cover the damages caused by an uninsured or underinsured motorist. This is very useful in the event of being involved in a hit and run accident.
Mississippi auto insurance does not follow the no-fault laws since it is a Tort state. In Tort states, the driver at fault will have to bear the medical expenses of the victim, in the event of being involved in an accident. The victim will also get a fair chance to sue for compensation and loss of wages. Victims can also make claims for pain and suffering as well.
Driving Under Influence In Mississippi
Mississippi also follows the implied consent laws and if you are pulled up on suspicions of DUI and if you refuse to undergo the test, your license would be suspended for a period of 90 days or even one year, in case you have had any previous DUI convictions prior to that.
DUI or Driving under Influence laws and Teen Driver laws vary from one state to another. If the BAC Blood Alcohol Content is 0.08% then it would be considered as a DUI offense. However, if the BAC is over 0.15% then the sentencing could be more severe.
If you have committed the first Mississippi DUI offense you could be imprisoned for up to 48 hours with a fine of $250 to $1,000. This would be followed by a 90-day license suspension. A second Mississippi DUI offense would mean imprisonment for 5 days to a year with a fine of $600 to $1,500. The license would be suspended for two years and you may also have to engage in community service for a period of ten days to a year. A third Mississippi DUI offense would mean imprisonment for a period of one year and it may go up to five years. The fine imposed could be anywhere between $2,000 and $5,000 with a five-year suspension of license.An SR-22 would be required to reinstate the suspended license.
Other Traffic Laws That Govern the State
Statistics show that four out of five accidents take place due to distracted drivers and cellphones have a major role to play in this regard. Around six states have already banned the use of handheld wireless devices while driving and 25 states have either issued complete or partial bans on texting messages while driving.
The Mississippi Senate Bill 2280 prohibits using the cellphone for texting messages while driving. Presently there are six states that have banned the use of cell phones while driving. However, no state has passed any law to completely ban the use of cellphones while driving. If you are caught using a cell phone while operating a motor vehicle, you may have to pay a fine or even serve a jail term if you get involved in an accident that may have been caused by distracted driving.
Hence, it is best to avoid the use of cellphones while driving. Using a cellphone makes a person 23% more likely to get involved in a motor vehicle accident due to distracted driving.
Mississippi auto insurance uses the GDL or Graduated Driver Licensing for teen drivers and is applicable to those between 15 and 16 years of age.This system has been intended to bring down the number of accidents that is caused by the high-risk group of inexperienced drivers. Through this system, inexperienced drivers would be gradually introduced to the driving privileges and it will help them gain ample experience behind the wheel. This will help them obtain the regular Mississippi Driver's License eventually.
In order to obtain the Learner's License the teenage driver should be at least 15 years of age. They should get through a written exam and a vision exam. Teenage drivers will also have to provide proof of identity, age, as well as residence. They have to obtain consent from a parent or guardian. Teenage drivers should also provide proof of enrollment or graduation certificate.
To obtain the intermediate license, the teen should be 15 years old and must pass a written exam as well as a vision exam. The teenage driver should have also held the Learner's license for a period of six months at least. Teens are advised to follow the Teen Driver restrictions and avoid any violations. Maintaining a clean driving record will help in getting the Mississippi Driver's License.
Shopping for insurance is a must if you have to get some of the best deals. Apply for free quotes online and after you get multiple quotes, you may carry out a comparison of quotes before you decide on the right one. This is the simplest way to save on time and money. In case you are unsure about the coverage, you may contact your insurance provider or your agent and clarify your doubts.
More Insurance Online
Auto Insurance Guide
- Mississippi Auto Insurance Basics
- Mississippi Auto Insurance Coverage
- Mississippi Auto Insurance Discounts
- Mississippi Factors that Affect Insurance Rates
- Mississippi Driving and Traffic Laws
- Mississippi Tips For Saving on Car Insurance
Auto Insurance in Mississippi Cities
- Houston Auto Insurance
- Columbus Auto Insurance
- Washington Auto Insurance
- Philadelphia Auto Insurance
- Cleveland Auto Insurance
- Columbia Auto Insurance
- Louisville Auto Insurance
- Raleigh Auto Insurance
- Brooklyn Auto Insurance
- Long Beach Auto Insurance
- Jackson Auto Insurance
- Oakland Auto Insurance
- Little Rock Auto Insurance
- Hamilton Auto Insurance
- Independence Auto Insurance
- Oxford Auto Insurance