South Carolina Auto Insurance Quotes
Shopping for the best deals on South Carolina auto insurance coverage? You're on the right site. You'll find comprehensive information about the auto insurance requirements in South Carolina so that you can search for a policy that meets your individual circumstances. Once you're familiar with the insurance requirements, you can request auto insurance quotes from several carriers that are authorized to do business in the state. Comparison shopping can help you to save money and get the best deal on your auto insurance policy.
South Carolina Liability Requirements
Liability insurance is required on all vehicles registered in the state of South Carolina. This type of coverage will cover property damage and medical expenses in the event of an automobile accident. The minimum required coverage amount for bodily injuries for one person in one accident is $25,000. The minimum required coverage for all bodily injuries in one accident is $50,000. Property damage must be covered by a minimum of $25,000 of liability insurance. South Carolina also requires that motorists carry uninsured motorist coverage on all vehicles registered in the state.
South Carolina Proof of Insurance
You must provide proof of insurance when you register your vehicle or when you apply for a driver's license. If you own a vehicle, you must give the DMV the name of your insurance company so that your coverage can be verified electronically. If you do not own a vehicle and are applying for a new driver's license or a driver's license renewal, you can mark the appropriate ckeckbox on the application form.
Penalties for Failure to Maintain Coverage
The penalties for failure to maintain coverage can be severe in South Carolina. If you cancel your insurance policy, you must provide proof of coverage through a new company or you must turn in your license plate. If you do not do either of these, your license and registration will be suspended and you will need to pay a reinstatement fee of up to $400. If you are pulled over for a traffic violation and you cannot provide proof of insurance, you can be cited and have to pay fines or do jail time. If you do not provide proof of insurance within 30 days of the citation, your license can be suspended for an indefinite period of time. Once you've served the license suspension period, you must pay a fee of $100 to $550 to have your license reinstated. If you are in an accident, you will be required to have your insurance company provide proof of coverage to the DMV within 15 days. If this proof isn't provided, your driver's license and vehicle registration will be suspended.
More Insurance Online
Auto Insurance Guide
- South Carolina Auto Insurance Basics
- South Carolina Auto Insurance Coverage
- South Carolina Auto Insurance Discounts
- South Carolina Factors that Affect Insurance Rates
- South Carolina Driving and Traffic Laws
- South Carolina Tips For Saving on Car Insurance
Auto Insurance in South Carolina Cities
- Cleveland Auto Insurance
- Columbia Auto Insurance
- Springfield Auto Insurance
- Buffalo Auto Insurance
- Jackson Auto Insurance
- Glendale Auto Insurance
- Salem Auto Insurance
- Clearwater Auto Insurance
- Hollywood Auto Insurance
- Little Rock Auto Insurance
- York Auto Insurance
- Gilbert Auto Insurance
- Trenton Auto Insurance