Nebraska Auto Insurance Quotes
Nebraska is part of the Midwestern States on the Great Plains and it is called as the Corn Husker State. The capital city of Nebraska is Lincoln and the population of the state is about 1,800,000. To drive around Nebraska, you should know about the driving and vehicle insurance laws of the state to adhere to them properly. If you very little knowledge about the comprehensive solutions and competitive price quotes on Nebraska auto insurance policies, you had selected the right website.
We provide detailed information on the minimum statutory financial responsibility requirements of Nebraska and updated information on Nebraska insurance regulations. You can protect your vehicle and your driver license when you understand and comply with the information provided by us on Nebraska auto insurance requirements. You can also avoid penal action by Nebraska Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV). You can also obtain premium quotes from all major auto insurance carriers of Nebraska from us.
There are a number of people who think that auto insurance is not very essential. However, that is not true and in fact, auto insurance is a bare necessity and every state in the US mandates having the minimum required. All states are governed by various rules and regulations with regard to auto insurance. The Insurance Commissioner of each state prescribes the minimum required and that is based on a set of calculations where various factors are taken into consideration. It is the same with Nebraska auto insurance as well.
Nebraska mandates all motorists to be covered by liability insurance and must also carry proof of insurance with them at all times. As per Nebraska auto insurance laws, if anyone is found driving around without proof of insurance, their licenses will be suspended immediately.
The Minimums For a Valid auto insurance policy
The minimum liability coverage as per Nebraska auto insurance laws are $25,000 for bodily injury per person, $50,000 for bodily injuries, and $25,000 for damage to property. Nebraska is a Tort state and the driver at fault has to pay for the medical costs incurred by the victim in the event of being involved in an accident. In the state of Nebraska, you don’t have no-fault insurance.
All motorists in Nebraska are expected to carry the minimum prescribed UM or UIM (Uninsured or Underinsured coverage). This coverage will protect the driver in the event of being involved in a motor vehicle accident where the other person is either not adequately covered by insurance or may have been uninsured. The UM or UIM coverage is $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident.
Driving and Traffic Laws Governing the State Of Nebraska
As per the implied consent laws in Nebraska, you have to be willing to take the test in case you are pulled over on suspected DUI charges. For the first DUI offense you have to pay a fine of around $500 with a minimum of 7 days imprisonment. However, if the BAC or the Blood Alcohol Content is 0.15% and above you may even face a license suspension for a period six months to one year.
Depending on the case, the imprisonment may even go up to 60 days for the first time offense with a fine of up to $500. A second DUI offense will attract a fine of up to $500 and may go up to $1,000 if the BAC is 0.15% or more. You could also face imprisonment for up to 90 days and it may go up to one year if the BAC is 0.15% and more.
Due to the increase in the number of accidents due to distracted driving, the Nebraska legislature has been considering several laws in this regard. At least 50% of the motorists in the 18 to 24 age group have admitted to texting while driving. Four out of five accidents are caused due to distracted drivers.
Presently, around six states have already banned the use of handheld wireless devices while operating a vehicle. At least 25 states have issued complete or partial bans on texting while driving.
The Nebraska Legislative Bill 945 prohibits the use of any handheld wireless device while driving. So, the best thing to do would be to avoid the use of cellphones while driving. A number of states are taking up this issue seriously and passing laws restricting the use of cellphones.
In case you are caught using the cell phone while driving, you may have to pay a fine or even serve a jail term in case you cause an accident due to distracted driving. Hence, the best thing to do is to avoid these distractions completely.
Driver Laws For Teens
Nebraska has also adopted the GDL or Graduated Driver Licensing system. This system is aimed at reducing the number of high-risk accidents caused by teenage drivers who have little or no experience. This is a system that will introduce teenagers gradually to the privileges of driving. It will also help them gain valuable experience behind the wheel and that would ultimately help them obtain a valid Nebraska Driver’s License.
In case the teen has reached 14 years of age and lives over a mile-and-a-half from school, they may avail the LPE permit or school permit, where they can drive to and from school with a parent or guardian who holds a valid license. This is essentially a limited license and is also better known as the ‘school permit.’
In order to obtain a learner’s license the teenage driver should be at least 15 years of age and must hold the learner’s license for a period of six months and complete around 50 hours of driving under the supervision of an adult driver holding a valid license. This is inclusive of 10 hours of nighttime driving as well.
In order to obtain an intermediate/restricted license, the teen will have to meet the requirements of the learner’s license and should be 16 years of age. The teenage driver will have to hold the license until his/her 18th birthday. They must also pass a written exam as well as a vision test and maintain a clean driving record without violations. After these requirements are met, they can move on to the unrestricted license. However, it is important to adhere strictly to the teen driver restrictions. Any violation will cause unnecessary delays in obtaining the unrestricted licenses and will result in penalties or license suspensions as well.
Ideally, you should shop online for auto insurance policies in order to get some of the best deals. There are a number of licensed insurance carriers in each state. When you apply for free quotes online, you will receive multiple quotes. Compare the quotes and then opt for the one that suits your requirements. In case you are unsure about the right type of coverage or the right amount of coverage, you may either contact the insurance carrier or the insurance agent to get your queries answered. Always purchase your auto insurance policy from any of the licensed insurance carriers in your state.
More Insurance Online
Auto Insurance Guide
- Nebraska Auto Insurance Basics
- Nebraska Auto Insurance Coverage
- Nebraska Auto Insurance Discounts
- Nebraska Factors that Affect Insurance Rates
- Nebraska Driving and Traffic Laws
- Nebraska Tips For Saving on Car Insurance
Auto Insurance in Nebraska Cities
- Atlanta Auto Insurance
- Columbus Auto Insurance
- Washington Auto Insurance
- Louisville Auto Insurance
- Springfield Auto Insurance
- Arlington Auto Insurance
- Memphis Auto Insurance
- Aurora Auto Insurance
- Jackson Auto Insurance
- Omaha Auto Insurance
- Concord Auto Insurance
- Oakland Auto Insurance
- Franklin Auto Insurance
- Lincoln Auto Insurance
- Salem Auto Insurance
- Clearwater Auto Insurance
- Plymouth Auto Insurance
- Cambridge Auto Insurance
- York Auto Insurance
- Oxford Auto Insurance
- Sterling Auto Insurance
- Trenton Auto Insurance