North Dakota Auto Insurance Quotes
If you've been searching for information and price quotes on North Dakota auto insurance coverage, you've found the best site. Before you shop for a quote on an auto insurance premium, you can read the most up to date information on North Dakota's auto insurance laws and learn what type of coverage is required for all registered vehicles. You can also learn about the optional types of coverage available. Once you have your desired coverage in mind, you can request quotes from several auto insurance carriers that are licensed to issue coverage in North Dakota.
North Dakota Liability Insurance Requirements
North Dakota requires that all registered vehicles be covered by liability insurance as well as uninsured motorist coverage and no-fault coverage. The liability coverage consists of coverage for bodily injuries for one person in one accident, all bodily injuries per accident, and property damage in one accident. The minimum coverage amounts are $25,000 per person for bodily injuries, $50,000 for all bodily injuries in one accident, and $25,000 for property damage. Uninsured and underinsured motorist coverage must be maintained at $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident. Drivers must also obtain $30,000 in no-fault coverage, which will pay for expenses regardless of who is at fault in a motor vehicle accident.
Responsibility for Accident Expenses
North Dakota is one of the twelve states that are known as no-fault states. This means that an insurance carrier must pay the expenses of a covered driver without regard to who was responsible for the accident.
North Dakota Proof of Insurance
If a law enforcement officer requests proof of insurance, you must comply with that request. Acceptable proof of insurance includes a current insurance identification card or a certificate that shows that you have coverage under the North Dakota Automobile Insurance Plan. If you are self-insured, a certificate of self-insurance is also acceptable.
Penalties for Failure to Maintain Coverage
In North Dakota, there are several penalties for failing to main the required auto insurance coverage. The first offense is considered a Class B misdemeanor and will result in a fine of $150 or more. If a second offense is committed, the driver's license plates will be taken away until proof of insurance can be shown. If a driver is involved in an accident when they do not have any coverage, they will accumulate 14 points on their driving record. This results in an immediate suspension of North Dakota driving privileges.
More Insurance Online
Auto Insurance Guide
- North Dakota Auto Insurance Basics
- North Dakota Auto Insurance Coverage
- North Dakota Auto Insurance Discounts
- North Dakota Factors that Affect Insurance Rates
- North Dakota Driving and Traffic Laws
- North Dakota Tips For Saving on Car Insurance
Auto Insurance in North Dakota Cities
- Columbus Auto Insurance
- Portland Auto Insurance
- Cleveland Auto Insurance
- Raleigh Auto Insurance
- Buffalo Auto Insurance
- Erie Auto Insurance
- York Auto Insurance
- Hamilton Auto Insurance
- Michigan Auto Insurance
- Sterling Auto Insurance
- Trenton Auto Insurance