It is important to know the insurance requirements that your state mandates for its drivers. The insurance commissioner for the state of North Dakota has set the mandatory insurance requirements for all of its drivers. There are six major areas of coverage for automobile insurance but not all are mandatory.
If you are a licensed driver in the state of North Dakota you must carry the following insurance coverage on your vehicle: Bodily Injury Protection, Property Damage, Uninsured Motorist Coverage, Underinsured Motorist Coverage and No-fault coverage.
The minimum amounts required are the highest level that your insurance company will pay out for each level of coverage. For bodily injury, you are required to carry $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident; property damage coverage should be $25,000 per accident; uninsured and underinsure motorist coverage requirements are each set at $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident; no fault coverage is set at $30,000.
Bodily injury liability covers the injuries or death of a person if you are responsible for an accident. Property damage liability covers the repair and/or replacement of another person’s property that was damaged or destroyed as a result of an accident that you were responsible for.
These are only the minimums required by the state. You may want to add additional coverage to further protect yourself and your family. If you still owe money on your vehicle, your lender will require you to carry collision coverage to protect their investment.
You may want to add personal injury liability to your coverage. Bodily injury covers others that were injured in an accident where you were at fault but it does not cover your medical expenses or other members of your family who may also have been injured in the accident. Personal injury protection will cover these medical costs.
Comprehensive coverage protects the value and replacement of your car in the event that it is damaged as a result of anything other than an accident, for example if your car is stolen, someone breaks into it or it suffers flood damage.
Getting the right amount of coverage in place is important. The more coverage you have the more your insurance premiums will be, depending on the deductibles you choose. But it may be in your best interest to pay the money now even though you may not need it rather than not have coverage if you do need it.
You must carry proof of insurance with you in your vehicle at all times. If you are pulled over by a police officer and cannot provide proof of insurance it is considered a Class B misdemeanor and you will be fined $150.