Maine Auto Insurance Quotes
If you are looking for a website that furnishes complete solutions and competitive price quotes on Maine auto insurance policies, you have selected the right one. We advise you about the financial responsibility requirements of Maine and also present updated information on the insurance regulations of Maine. With the information provided by us on Maine auto insurance requirements, you can maintain your vehicle and your driver license without facing any problem and can avoid penal action by Maine law enforcement authorities. Premium quotes from all the major auto insurance carriers in Maine for Maine auto insurance are also available with us.
All motorists are expected to carry auto insurance all over the United States, if they have to drive around legally in any part of the US. Although the auto insurance laws are federally governed, it is the state Insurance Commissioner who fixes the minimum required for each state. Hence, if you plan to drive around in any state in the US, you should be well-versed with the laws of the state, as each state has its own set of rules and regulations. The laws in each state will vary as all states do not have uniform laws and it is the same with Maine auto insurance laws as well.
Driving Laws In the State for all drivers
Each state has its own DUI laws, Distracted Driver Laws, as well as Teen Driver laws. A BAC of 0.08% and above will be considered a DUI offense in the state of Maine. The sentence would be enhanced if theBAC is 0.15% and above.
As per Maine’s implied consent laws, if you are pulled up over suspicion of DUI and if you refuse to cooperate with the test, then you could be fined heavily and you may also end up serving a jail term. The first DUI offense will attract a fine of $500 and up to 30 days imprisonment. The license will also be suspended for a period of 90 days.A second DUI offense will attract a fine of $1,000 with a 6-month jail term and 3-year suspension of license. A third DUI offense will attract a fine of $1,000 and a jail term of 9 months. The license would be suspended for a period of 6 years. An SR-22 would be required to reinstate the license.
The number of accidents due to distracted driving has been on the rise. Hence, Maine legislature is considering bringing in a set of stringent laws with regard to distracted driving and cellphone usage.
As per the Maine auto insurance distracted driver laws the Maine Senate Bill 15 has been titled ‘failure to maintain control of a motor vehicle’ and drivers are advised not to use cellphones while driving. If you are caught driving while using a cell phone, you could either be fined or you might even end up serving a jail term, especially if you are involved in an accident that is caused due to distracted driving. So, it is best to avoid using the cellphone while driving in order to avoid penalties and serving time in jail.
Maine Teen Driver Laws and Restrictions Associated
Maine also has the Graduated Driver Licensing or GDL system for teen drivers. This system has been put in place in order to help reduce the number of accidents that are caused by inexperienced teenage drivers. This system helps to gradually introduce teenage drivers to the privileges of driving. This is a system where teenage drivers will get a chance to gain ample experience behind the wheel. After they go through the entire system of training, they will be able to obtain an official Maine driver’s license.
Maine has its own Teen Driver laws and every teenage driver should be at least 15 years of age and should have passed a written test as well as a vision exam. They should complete a state-approved driver education course.
In order to obtain a learner’s permit the teenage driver has to complete 35 hours of driving under the supervision of and adult with a valid license. This is inclusive of 5 hours of nighttime driving. Following this the teenage drivers will have to take a written exam and they should meet all the requirements for instruction permit.
In order to obtain the intermediate license, the teenage drivers should hold a valid learner’s permit for a period of six months and also pass the road skills test.
The instruction or learner’s permit drivers should be accompanied by an adult licensed driver who is over 21 years of age. The licensed driver should be present at all times and the person should have held the license for more than two years.
After obtaining the license, during the first six months, the intermediate drivers are also not allowed to transport any other passenger other than their siblings, unless they are accompanied by a licensed adult driver. Intermediate licensees are also not allowed to drive between 12 a.m. and 5 a.m. If any of the GDL laws are violated, the restrictions may be extended further by another six months. This will cause unnecessary delays in obtaining the full license. There are certain provisions in the driver’s license especially for the first two years. If there are any convictions due to a moving violation during this phase, the licenses may be suspended for one month.
The Requirements for a valid insurance coverage
Maine auto insurance minimums are $50,000 for bodily injury per person, $100,000 for bodily injuries, $50,000 and $100,000 for uninsured and underinsured motorist coverage, and $25,000 for property damage. These are the minimum liability coverage requirements for Maine auto insurance. All drivers should carry proof of insurance in their vehicles at all times.
Just as it is the case with some other states, Maine auto insurance also expects the motorists to carry minimum UM or UIM which is Uninsured or Underinsured motorist coverage of $50,000 per person, as well as $100,000 per accident.
Maine auto insurance does not require you to carry no-fault insurance as it is a Tort state. In these states, the driver at fault will have to pay for the medical costs of the victim in the event of being involved in an accident. Victims also have the privilege to claim compensation for loss of wages and also pain and suffering.
Ensuring the right coverage at the right price
The best way to purchase auto insurance is by shopping online and obtaining quotes from various auto insurance providers. After obtaining the quotes, you should ideally carry out a comparison of quotes. This will help you save a lot of time and money. Once you compare quotes, you can find something that suits your requirements. If you have any doubts regarding the right amount of coverage etc., you may contact your insurance agent or your insurance carrier directly.
More Insurance Online
Auto Insurance Guide
- Maine Auto Insurance Basics
- Maine Auto Insurance Coverage
- Maine Auto Insurance Discounts
- Maine Factors that Affect Insurance Rates
- Maine Driving and Traffic Laws
- Maine Tips For Saving on Car Insurance
Auto Insurance in Maine Cities
- Washington Auto Insurance
- Portland Auto Insurance
- Richmond Auto Insurance
- Springfield Auto Insurance
- Detroit Auto Insurance
- Aurora Auto Insurance
- Oakland Auto Insurance
- Franklin Auto Insurance
- Lincoln Auto Insurance
- Plymouth Auto Insurance
- Cambridge Auto Insurance
- York Auto Insurance
- Bristol Auto Insurance
- Hanover Auto Insurance
- Hudson Auto Insurance
- Oxford Auto Insurance