Maryland Auto Insurance Quotes
If you have been looking for a website that furnishes complete solutions and competitive price quotes on Maryland auto insurance policies, you have found the right place. We furnish detailed information about the financial responsibility requirements of Maryland and updated information on the insurance regulations of Maryland. You can maintain your vehicle and your driver license without facing any problem with the information provided by us on Maryland auto insurance requirements. You can also avoid penal action by Maryland Motor Vehicle Administration (MVA). Premium quotes from the major auto insurance carriers of Maryland auto insurance are also provided by us.
Auto insurance is mandatory in most of the states in the US. All motorists are expected to carry auto insurance in order to be able to drive around legally in the US. The rules and regulations are different in each state they have different minimum auto insurance requirements. Whatever the case may be, just the minimum prescribed will not be sufficient to cover losses and motorists will have to purchase additional coverage as well.
Maryland Auto Insurance Minimums
Maryland auto insurance minimum liability coverage has been set at $20,000 for bodily injury per person, $40,000 for bodily injury per person, and $40,000 for damage to property. Failure to carry the minimum prescribed by the state could result in suspension of license or ever imprisonment. Hence, it is important to be aware of the state laws in case you are planning to drive around anywhere in Maryland.
Each motorist has to carry the minimum liability coverage as per Maryland auto insurance laws. In some states, the uninsured motorist coverage and underinsured motorist coverage is mandatory. This offers the driver protection in case he/she is involved in an accident with a person who does not have sufficient coverage. Maryland has not made this coverage mandatory, but it does recommend this coverage to the motorists. This coverage is helpful during hit and run accidents as well.
Since Maryland is also a Tort state it is governed by similar laws where the driver at fault will have to bear the medical expenses of the victim, in the event of being involved in an accident. The victim also has the right to claim for compensation, loss of wages, and pain and suffering.
The Main Traffic and Driving Laws In The State
In the state of Maryland, you would be charged with DUI (Driving under Influence) if the BAC (Blood Alcohol Content) is 0.08%. This is the minimum level that can impair any individual. Maryland auto insurance laws also consider a BAC of 0.07% as DWI (Driving While Intoxicated).
Under the implied consent law, if you are pulled up over suspicions of DUI and if you don't submit yourself to a chemical test, then your license could be suspended for a period of 120 days. This is for the first offense. However, if you refuse the second time then your license will automatically get suspended for a period of one year.
For the first DUI offense in Maryland you could be imprisoned for a period of one year and it would be two years if there is a minor present in the vehicle. The license may be suspended for a period of six months and you could be fined between $1,000 and $2,000 in case there is a minor present in the vehicle.
For the first DWI offense you could face up to two months imprisonment and up to six months if there is a minor present in the vehicle. Your license may be suspended for a period of six months and the fine imposed may be $1,000. The fine may be even $1,500 in case there is a minor is present in the vehicle. The jail term as well as the fines will go up steeply depending on the charges that are filed.
Under such circumstances an SR-22 would be required to reinstate the suspended license.
As per the available statistics at least 50% of the motorists in the 18 to 24 age group have admitted to texting while driving, and around four out of five accidents are caused due to distractions while driving. Cellphones are one of the leading causes for distraction while driving. Hence, at least six states have already banned cellphone usage while driving. Although no state has passed any law to completely ban cellphone usage, there are many states that ban the use partially. For instance, 25 states have imposed complete or partial bans on texting while driving.
Maryland auto insurance also has several Distracted Driver Laws and Teen Driver Laws. The Maryland House Bill 72 as well as the Senate Bill 98 prohibits texting while operating any motor vehicle. Hence, it is advisable not to use the cellphones while driving as it is known to cause distractions and accidents. If you are caught using a cellphone while driving, you could end up paying a fine or even serve a jail term if you are involved in an accident due to the distraction caused by your cellphone.
Maryland also has the GDL or the Graduated Driver Licensing system. This is a system that is intended to lower the high-risk accidents caused by inexperienced teenage drivers. With the help of this system, teenage drivers will be gradually exposed to the nuances of driving and will have time to get behind the wheel and gain valuable driving experience that will help them get hold of their official Maryland driver's licenses.
As per the rules and regulation in the state of Maryland, drivers should be in the age group of 15 to 17. GDL will not be applicable for those over 18 years of age or for 17-year-old who have held licenses for over a period of six months. It would also not be applicable for married 16-year-olds who head the household. It is not applicable in case of emancipated minors.
In order to obtain a learner's license the teenage driver should be at least 15 years old and have age proof and identity proof. Teenagers who are 16 or 17 years old should obtain consent from a parent or guardian to obtain a license.
There are a number of Maryland Teen Driver restrictions that need to be adhered to. Failure to comply with these restrictions or any violations will result in the extension of the restrictions for another six months, which could cause unnecessary delays in obtaining the license.
Buying the right policy
The best way to purchase auto insurance is by shopping around for a policy. Obtain quotes online and compare the quotes. If you find a suitable quote, you may go ahead and purchase the policy from any of the licensed auto insurance carriers. Contact the company directly or contact your insurance agent for further details.
More Insurance Online
Auto Insurance Guide
- Maryland Auto Insurance Basics
- Maryland Auto Insurance Coverage
- Maryland Auto Insurance Discounts
- Maryland Factors that Affect Insurance Rates
- Maryland Driving and Traffic Laws
- Maryland Tips For Saving on Car Insurance
Auto Insurance in Maryland Cities
- Baltimore Auto Insurance
- Phoenix Auto Insurance
- Columbia Auto Insurance
- Brooklyn Auto Insurance
- California Auto Insurance
- Knoxville Auto Insurance
- Oakland Auto Insurance
- Pasadena Auto Insurance
- Cambridge Auto Insurance
- Hollywood Auto Insurance
- Hanover Auto Insurance
- Oxford Auto Insurance