Louisiana Auto Insurance Quotes
If you are planning to shop around for some of the best auto insurance rates in the state of Louisiana you have come to the right place. You can avail comprehensive information regarding auto insurance quotes, required coverage as per the state laws, optional coverage etc. Before you request for a price quote it is important to have a proper understanding of auto insurance and the prevailing state laws. Once you are absolutely sure about what you need, you can obtain insurance quotes from various insurance providers who carry valid licenses to conduct business in the state of Louisiana. Every state has its own laws governing auto insurance and it is important to comply with the rules.
Louisiana Liability Insurance Coverage
Louisiana is one of the many states that require motorists to carry valid liability insurance on all registered vehicles at all times. This type of coverage is used to cover bodily injuries and property damage caused in a motor vehicle accident. Louisiana's current liability insurance minimums are $10,000 for bodily injuries to one person in one accident, $20,000 for all bodily injuries sustained in one accident, and $10,000 for property damage. On January 1, 2010, these minimums will in crease to $15,000 for bodily injuries for one person in one accident, $30,000 for all bodily injuries sustained in one accident, and $25,000 for property damage. While other states require uninsured motorist coverage or personal injury protection coverage, Louisiana does not require motorists to carry these types of coverage. If you want to add them to your policy, you can talk to an insurance agent to determine how much coverage is right for you.
Louisiana Financial Responsibility Determination
Louisiana uses the tort system for determining financial responsibility following a motor vehicle accident. Under this system, the driver who is determined to be at fault for the accident is responsible for paying the accident expenses of the other driver and any passengers in the other vehicle. The tort system also allows accident victims to sue the driver who was at fault so that damages can be recovered for things like pain and suffering or lost wages.
Establishing Financial Responsibility
Establishing financial responsibility means being able prove that you will be able to handle the cost of repair and damages that you may cause in an accident. In the state of Louisiana financial responsibility can be established by purchasing liability coverage from any of the authorized auto insurance providers who sell insurance in Louisiana.
Louisiana Proof of Insurance
Louisiana drivers must provide valid proof of insurance when registering a vehicle or when stopped by a law enforcement officer for a traffic violation. The best proof of insurance to have on hand is the current insurance card for your vehicle. If a driver cannot provide proof of insurance at the time it is requested, the vehicle can be impounded or the license plates will be removed and a yellow sticker will be placed on the vehicle's back windshield. The driver then has three days to provide proof of insurance to Louisiana's Office of Motor Vehicles (OMV). If the motorist is stopped again within that three-day period, their vehicle can be impounded until proof of insurance is provided. The vehicle cannot be removed from the impound until all towing and reinstatement fees are paid. The fees are $75 to $100 for a first offense, $100 to $250 for a second offense, and up to $700 on each subsequent offense.
Penalties For Failure To Maintain Financial Responsibility
If you are caught by law enforcement officers without adequate proof of insurance, you will face a citation and your license plates will be removed and they can impound your vehicle. After this you will have three days to provide the proof of insurance to the relevant authorities. If you fail to do show up with the proof, you will not be able to get back your license plates and you might have to register your vehicle all over again.
Cancellation Of Liability Coverage
If your liability coverage has been canceled by your insurer then you will face a ‘flag’ on the driver’s license as well as registration suspension. In order to get the flag removed and your license reinstated you have to provide proof of insurance that is effective within ten days of the date of cancellation of the insurance or you must show proof that the vehicle has been sold, junked, traded, or moved to some other state. If you fail to provide proof of insurance within the stipulated time period then you will have to pay the reinstatement fees that would be applicable.
You will have to pay a hefty reinstatement fees depending on the number of days you take to provide the proof of insurance. It may range from $50 to $225 if it is overdue by 90 days or more. Penalties and fees will vary based on the situation that you are in.
Factors That Affect Auto Insurance Rates
There are a number of factors that affect the auto insurance rates. While some of the factors can be changed, there are those that cannot be changed.
Age is one such factor that cannot be changed and it plays a major role in determining auto insurance rates. Those who are below 25 years of age are considered to be high risk drivers. Statistics have shown that they are rash drivers and tend to cause a lot of accidents. Hence, the premiums that are charged are quite high. However, those who are above 25 years of age are considered as being more mature and stable and the premiums are also quite low.
A person’s marital status can also play a role in determining auto insurance rates. Since married people are also considered to be mature the rates are quite low when compared to the rates for those who are unmarried.
Women are usually charged lesser premiums as they are considered to be safe drivers when compared to men. In general, women don’t drive in a rash manner and don’t cause too many accidents like their male counterparts.
If you have a clean driving record you can avail discounts on your auto insurance premiums. This is something that you can change as it is in your hands.
More Insurance Online
Auto Insurance Guide
- Louisiana Auto Insurance Basics
- Louisiana Auto Insurance Coverage
- Louisiana Auto Insurance Discounts
- Louisiana Factors that Affect Insurance Rates
- Louisiana Driving and Traffic Laws
- Louisiana Tips For Saving on Car Insurance
Auto Insurance in Louisiana Cities
- Atlanta Auto Insurance
- Washington Auto Insurance
- Columbia Auto Insurance
- Springfield Auto Insurance
- Jackson Auto Insurance
- New Orleans Auto Insurance
- Franklin Auto Insurance
- Baton Rouge Auto Insurance
- Montgomery Auto Insurance
- Gilbert Auto Insurance
- Independence Auto Insurance