Auto Insurance » All States » ID-Idaho Auto Insurance

Idaho Auto Insurance Quotes

Are you searching for the Idaho auto insurance coverage requirements? You had come to the site that gives you best solutions and most competitive price quotes on Idaho auto insurance policies, to enable you to comply with the financial responsibility requirements of Idaho. If you go through the information furnished by us on Idaho auto insurance requirements, you'll get full protection for your vehicle registration and driver license and you can avoid penal action by the DMV of Idaho.

Auto insurance is mandatory in all states in the US. Every motorist who has to drive around legally on the roads of Idaho has to have the minimum prescribed auto insurance in the state. Although there are federal laws governing auto insurance, it is the Insurance Commissioner in every state that decides the minimum requirement.

It is important to know the state requirements prior to obtaining a quote for Idaho auto insurance. Just as it is with any other state, there are different laws for DUI as well as teen driver laws. Of late, a number of states also have different Distracted Driver Laws. Hence, you might have to go through all the necessary information before you decide on the coverage you wish to purchase. It is important to purchase the right amount of coverage, as just the minimum prescribed by the state will not be sufficient to cover for all the damages.

Proof of Insurance

The motorist is expected to carry proof of insurance at all times. In case you fail to provide proof of insurance, you might have to provide financial responsibility for a year. In case you are caught for the second time without proof of insurance, then you will have to show financial responsibility for 3 years.

Regardless of whether the vehicle is registered or not, the vehicles must carry the minimum insurance. If the motorist is caught without insurance, the driver's license would be suspended for a year.

Idaho auto insurance minimums are $25,000 for bodily injury per person, $50,000 per accident, and 15,000 towards property damage. Idaho mandates all motorists to be covered liability insurance and also have proof of insurance.

Various Coverage Options In Idaho  

Idaho auto insurance will also include uninsured or underinsured motorist coverage. This offers the driver protection in the event of being involved in an accident and in case the opposite party is not insured or is not adequately covered. Auto insurance companies must include the uninsured and underinsured motorist coverage as per the prevailing rules, unless it is rejected by the policyholder. In case the policyholder rejects the same, it should be given in writing.
Idaho is a Tort state and does not have no-fault insurance - meaning the at-fault driver will have to pay for the victim's medical expenses. The victim is also entitled to claim compensation for additional loss of wages and pain and suffering.

Driving Laws Governing the State

Idaho has the implied consent law, which means that in case you are pulled over for DUI and if you refuse to undergo the DUI test, then your license would be seized and you will also be fined $250. The license would be reinstated only after a hearing is conducted.

In case you are convicted for a DUI offense, your license would be revoked for a period of one year. However, in case the court finds evidence that there was no legal cause to stop the motorist, then the license may not be suspended. An SR-22 is generally used to reinstate a suspended license.

If the BAC or the Blood Alcohol Content is 0.08% (which is the minimum that can impair anyone) then you will be charged with DUI or Driving under Influence. Under DUI laws the penalties are severe in cases where BAC is over 0.15%.

Idaho auto insurance laws also require the GDL or Graduated Driver Licensing for teen drivers. The main aim is to reduce high-risk situations involving inexperienced drivers. This system has been created to introduce inexperienced motorists to driving and also to increase their driving privileges gradually. As they gain confidence behind the wheel, they will be better equipped to handle various situations that may arise while driving on the roads and highways.

During this 6-month period, teens must ensure that there are no violations prior to applying for the SIP or Supervised Instruction Permit. Following this the teen would be required to obtain at least 50 hours of supervised experience behind the wheel and that includes 10 hours of experience in nighttime driving.

Teens below 17 years of age should be accompanied by a licensed driver, who is at least 21 years of age or older. A teenage driver is permitted to have one passenger in the vehicle that is below 17 years old, provided the person is a member of the family. They cannot have more than one passenger below 17 years of age. The occupants in the vehicle are required to wear seatbelts at all times as it is mandatory. Teenage drivers are not permitted to drive at night, unless they are accompanied by someone who has a valid license and should be at least 21 years or older. If the teenage driver does not abide by the rules, he/she will receive a warning letter from the authorities in case it is a first offense. However, the teen driver will face a 30-day license suspension in the event of a second offense, and a 60-day license suspension for the third offense.

Idaho Distracted Driver Laws

Due to the increase in the number of accidents as a result of distracted driving, the Idaho legislature is contemplating another set of laws with regard to distractions due to the use of cellphones. At least 50% of the motorists in the 18 to 24 age group have admitted to texting while driving. One out of every four accidents is caused due to such distractions.

The Idaho Senate Bill 1352 prohibits any texting using the cellphones while driving. So, the simplest thing to do would be to avoid the use of cell phones while driving. If you are caught using the cellphone while driving you could be fined and you may even have to serve a jail term in case you cause an accident due to the usage of cellphone while driving.

Making an informed choice

So, you can shop around for Idaho auto insurance and obtain quotes online. Compare auto insurance quotes from multiple Idaho auto insurance carriers and then make an informed choice. Ensure that you provide accurate information while applying for quotes online.