Each state has its own requirements in terms of auto insurance coverage. By tuning in to these specific requirements first, you can construct an insurance policy that meets the minimum requirements of the law and your own personal needs. We have the information you need to cover yourself in Massachusetts, including the specific coverage requirements for this state.
Bodily Injury Liability
Bodily injury liability covers other drivers and passengers that are injured or killed by your vehicle. It is very important to have this coverage, since a single lawsuit against you in this situation could devastate your family financially. This coverage also includes the cost of legal expenses and pain and suffering compensation that might be sought in the event of a lawsuit. Most bodily injury liability comes with limits, so victims cannot sue you for amounts well beyond your coverage and means. In Massachusetts, the minimum requirement for bodily injury liability is $20,000 with a $40,000 limit.
Property Damage Liability
This is the second type of liability coverage that pertains to an accident victim’s car or property. In some cases, this might include a fence, house or other structure on their property that was damaged in an accident. Property damage liability also covers legal fees in the event the case goes to court. Most states, including Massachusetts, also require property damage liability. In Massachusetts, the minimum amount of such coverage is $5000, which is also the limit in this case.
Uninsured Motorist Bodily Injury
If you are injured in an accident and the other driver does not have insurance, you will be left footing the bill for your medical costs and lost wages. This is where uninsured motorist bodily injury comes into play. This coverage works like the other driver’s insurance would; only the coverage is on your own policy. Uninsured motorist bodily injury is a good idea if you do not have health insurance that would help out with the medical costs. In Massachusetts, uninsured motorist bodily injury is required, in a minimum amount of $20,000 with a $40,000 limit.
Personal Injury Protection
Personal injury protection, also known as PIP, covers a driver and his passengers who are injured or killed in an accident. This coverage is good regardless of fault, and covers medical bills, lost wages and funeral expenses. Because this coverage may overlap with a person’s health and disability coverage, it is not required in all states. However, Massachusetts requires a minimum personal injury protection of $8000 to ensure all of its drivers are properly covered in the event of an accident.
Understanding the Massachusetts requirements for car insurance goes a long way in helping you design the best policy for your needs. With the basics in hand, you can add to your insurance policy according to your budget and needs.