Montana Auto Insurance Quotes
Are you looking for the best deals on Montana auto insurance coverage? You're in the best place for information and quotes on auto insurance in Montana. Before purchasing a policy or searching for quotes, take a moment to familiarize yourself with Montana's auto insurance requirements. Once you find out about the coverage you are required to maintain, you can request quotes from several insurance carriers that are authorized to do business in the state.
Montana Liability Insurance Requirements
Montana is one of the many states that require drivers to carry liability insurance on all registered vehicles. This liability insurance coverage protects drivers and passengers in the event of an accident and will cover property damage and bodily injuries. The minimum liability insurance required for bodily injuries for one person in one accident is $25,000. For all bodily injuries in one accident, the minimum coverage amount is $50,000. Property damage must be covered by a minimum of $10,000 in liability coverage. Unlike some other states, Montana does not require that motorists carry uninsured motorist or personal injury protection coverage.
Montana Financial Responsibility Determination
In Montana, the tort system is used to determine who is financially responsible for an automobile accident. Under this system, the driver who is at fault for an accident is responsible for paying the expenses of the other driver and any passengers involved in the accident. Accident victims are also allowed to sue the driver at fault in civil court in order to recover damages for pain and suffering or lost work time due to injuries sustained in the accident.
Establishing Financial Responsibility
There are some alternatives to getting liability insurance coverage in Montana if you need to establish financial responsibility. You can carry a bond with a surety company that is authorized to operate in Montana. You can also make a cash deposit of $55,000 with the Montana state treasurer.
Montana Proof of Insurance
Your carrier will notify the authorities that you have the proper liability insurance. However, you still need to be able to provide proof of insurance to a law enforcement officer if you are pulled over. Proof in the form of a current insurance card is the easiest to provide. Keep your insurance card in your car at all times. You can also provide proof of bond or a confirmation letter that confirms your cash deposit with the Montana treasurer.
Penalties for Failure to Comply
If you do not comply with Montana's financial responsibility laws, you will have to pay a fine of up to $500 or spend up to 10 days in jail for a first offense. This will also result in 5 points being added to your driving record. If you have more than one offense, you'll have to pay a fine of no less than $350, spend up to 10 days in jail, and have your license suspended for 90 days.
More Insurance Online
Auto Insurance Guide
- Montana Auto Insurance Basics
- Montana Auto Insurance Coverage
- Montana Auto Insurance Discounts
- Montana Factors that Affect Insurance Rates
- Montana Driving and Traffic Laws
- Montana Tips For Saving on Car Insurance
Auto Insurance in Montana Cities
- Columbus Auto Insurance
- Buffalo Auto Insurance
- Jackson Auto Insurance
- Lincoln Auto Insurance
- Hamilton Auto Insurance