Austin Auto Insurance in Nevada
There are legal requirements that are specified by Nevada for Austin car insurance. It is mandatory for your Austin car insurance policy in Nevada to cover these basic requirements. Understand the legal requirements well and while buying your Austin auto insurance policy online, read through the coverage and ensure these requirements are met.
Legal requirements for Austin car insurance in Nevada
The state of Nevada has its own set of rules regulating car insurance policies in its counties. We shall discuss the various legal requirements for car insurance in Austin, Nevada.
The minimum amount of insurance coverage required for bodily injury is 15000$ per person. And it is $30000 for injuries sustained by all the individuals involved in the accident as a whole. And for all property damage accrued as a result of the accident, it is a minimum of $10000 per accident. This is known as liability insurance in the community of Austin, Nevada.
You can avoid this by showing self insurance. But this is allowed only for people who own more than 11 vehicles. In order to show proof of self insurance, you will have to set aside a certain amount of money as deposit and use it in the event of an accident.
The state of Nevada ensures that all vehicles are insured by using a vehicle insurance verification program. This requires all the insurance companies to send a list of all new policies and terminations every month to the DMV or department of motor vehicles. Based on this the DMV may flag a few vehicles as suspect of not being insured. And the owners of these vehicles will be sent requests to confirm their insurance status. In this case a form has to be filled up and sent back to the DMV within 20 days. The details would include driving license number, vehicle identification number, insurance company and policy number.
If the details are not sent within the prescribed 20 days, your vehicle registration will be cancelled. If you feel for any reason that your registration was cancelled due to an error, an appeal as possible. You must contact the office of administrative hearings to get it sorted out.
If you fail to maintain car insurance coverage, then your registration can be suspended and in order to reinstate your registration, you will have to pay a fee of $250. But if you let your insurance lapse because your vehicle was dormant or was undergoing repairs, you can fill out a dormant vehicle affidavit. This affidavit has to be submitted along with proof of dormancy to the DMV. In this case, your reinstatement fee will be reduced to $50 due to the special nature of the case.
Local auto insurance quotes in your area
AutoQuoteNow.com can help you compare car insurance quotes for auto insurance coverage in all of the following ZIP codes in Austin
More Insurance Online
Auto Insurance Guide
- Auto Insurance Basics
- Auto Insurance Coverage
- Auto Insurance Discount
- Factors that Affect Car Insurance Rates
- Driving and Traffic Laws
- Tips For Saving on Car Insurance