South Dakota Auto Insurance Quotes
If you've been looking for a way to get information and price quotes on South Dakota auto insurance policies, you've come to the right place. Before requesting a price quote on an insurance policy, read through the information provided and find out what South Dakota's requirements are for liability insurance and uninsured motorist coverage. Once you find out what type of policy you need, you can get insurance quotes from several carriers that are licensed to provide insurance coverage to South Dakota drivers.
South Dakota Liability Insurance Requirements
South Carolina is one of the many states that requires motorists to purchase and maintain liability coverage on all vehicles registered in the state. This coverage is for medical expenses and property damage caused in a motor vehicle accident. For injury or death to one person in one accident, the minimum amount of coverage required is $25,000. For all bodily injuries in one accident, the minimum required coverage amount is $50,000. Property damage must be covered with a minimum of $25,000 in liability insurance. South Dakota motorists must also purchase and maintain uninsured motorist coverage on all registered vehicles.
Alternatives to Liability Insurance Coverage
There are some alternatives to purchasing liability coverage that will allow you to remain in compliance with the financial responsibility laws of South Dakota. You can make a $50,000 deposit with the State Treasurer or you can get a surety bond with a broker that is authorized to do business in South Dakota. If you choose one of these options, you will have to carry a certificate of deposit issued by the State Treasurer as a proof of valid insurance.
South Dakota's Tort System
South Dakota uses the tort system for determining who is responsible for paying expenses resulting from a motor vehicle accident. Under the tort system, the driver who is responsible for the accident must pay the expenses of others involved in the accident. Accident victims may also sue the responsible driver in order to recoup their expenses or recover damages for lost wages or pain and suffering.
Penalties for Failure to Maintain Coverage
Driving without insurance is considered a serious offense in South Dakota. It is categorized as a Class 2 misdemeanor and can result in several penalties. These penalties include license suspension for one year, a $100 fine, up to 30 days in county jail, and a requirement that you file an SR-22 for three years. Your insurance premiums will increase as a result of your SR-22 filing.
More Insurance Online
Auto Insurance Guide
- South Dakota Auto Insurance Basics
- South Dakota Auto Insurance Coverage
- South Dakota Auto Insurance Discounts
- South Dakota Factors that Affect Insurance Rates
- South Dakota Driving and Traffic Laws
- South Dakota Tips For Saving on Car Insurance
Auto Insurance in South Dakota Cities
- Dallas Auto Insurance
- Columbia Auto Insurance
- Springfield Auto Insurance
- Arlington Auto Insurance
- Aurora Auto Insurance
- Buffalo Auto Insurance
- Hartford Auto Insurance
- Salem Auto Insurance
- Bristol Auto Insurance
- Hudson Auto Insurance