Rhode Island Auto Insurance Quotes
If you've been searching for the best place to buy Rhode Island auto insurance coverage, you've find the right site. You'll find in-depth information about the insurance requirements in the state of Rhode Island as well as optional types of insurance coverage. Once you understand what coverage you are required to hold, you can get auto insurance quotes from carriers that are authorized to provide coverage in Rhode Island. Don't make the mistake of buying a policy without shopping around. Get competitive quotes and accurate information right here.
Rhode Island Liability Insurance Minimums
Rhode Island is like many other states because drivers are required to carry liability insurance coverage on all registered vehicles. For bodily injuries sustained by one person in one accident, the minimum coverage required is $25,000. The required coverage for all bodily injuries sustained in one accident is $50,000. Property damage must also be covered with liability insurance in the amount of $25,000. Personal injury protection is not required in Rhode Island, but it is available as an addition to your auto insurance policy. The liability coverage requirements may also be met with a single combined policy instead of meeting separate minimums.
Uninsured Motorist Coverage in Rhode Island
Rhode Island requires that all motorists purchase uninsured motorist coverage. This coverage can help you in the event of an accident involving a driver who does not carry auto insurance as required by law. While minimum levels of uninsured motorist coverage are required, you can enhance your coverage by purchasing additional insurance.
Determining Financial Responsibility After an Accident
Rhode Island uses the tort system for assigning financial responsibility for accident-related expenses. Once a driver is determined to be at fault for an accident, that driver is responsible for paying the expenses of the other driver and any passengers. The other driver may also sue the driver responsible for the accident for things like medical expenses and lost wages.
Penalties for No Proof of Insurance
If you are pulled offer for a traffic violation, you must provide proof of insurance to the law enforcement officer. If you do not have proof of insurance available, you have 10 days to show proof of valid insurance. If you do not do this, you may have to pay a $500 fine and go through a 90-day license suspension. The best way to avoid these penalties is to always maintain the insurance coverage required and to have proof of insurance available at all times.
More Insurance Online
Auto Insurance Guide
- Rhode Island Auto Insurance Basics
- Rhode Island Auto Insurance Coverage
- Rhode Island Auto Insurance Discounts
- Rhode Island Factors that Affect Insurance Rates
- Rhode Island Driving and Traffic Laws
- Rhode Island Tips For Saving on Car Insurance
Auto Insurance in Rhode Island Cities
- Riverside Auto Insurance
- Glendale Auto Insurance
- Oakland Auto Insurance
- Lincoln Auto Insurance
- Providence Auto Insurance
- Bristol Auto Insurance