New Jersey Auto Insurance Quotes
New Jersey is located in the north-eastern region of the United States and it is known as the Garden State. The capital of New Jersey is Trenton. The population of New Jersey is more than 8,791,000 and it is the second wealthiest state in the United States. When you drive around New Jersey, you should comply with the driving and vehicle insurance laws of the state to avoid penal action by the Motor Vehicles Commission (MVC) of New Jersey. You have come to the right website for obtaining complete information and most competitive New Jersey auto insurance quotes from major insurance carriers in the state.
Auto insurance is mandatory in all states in the US. Every state has a minimum requirement as per the state laws. However, you can also purchase additional coverage over and above the mandated limit. In fact the minimum that is prescribed in each state, will never be sufficient to cover the damages in the event of being involved in an accident. The Insurance Commissioner in New Jersey is the deciding authority and is responsible for fixing the minimum requirement with regard to New Jersey Auto Insurance.
Auto Insurance Minimum Coverage
As per the prevailing laws in New Jersey, all motorists are supposed to carry the minimum liability coverage to be able to drive around legally in the state of New Jersey. Drivers are also supposed to carry proof of insurance in their vehicles and provide the same when they are asked for it. Failure to provide proof of insurance could result in fines. If you are caught driving without insurance, you will risk losing your license or your registration. Other penalties may include imprisonment, community service, or impoundment.
The New Jersey Auto Insurance minimum liability coverage for a basic policy is $15,000 for bodily injury per person, $10,000 for all bodily injuries, and $5,000 for damage to property. The permanent or significant injury coverage is $250,000. In the standard policy the bodily injury coverage for each person is $15,000, all bodily injuries is $30,000, damage to property is $5,000, PIP per person is $250,000, and permanent or significant injury is at $250,000.
New Jersey No-Fault Insurance And Other Coverage
Since New Jersey is a no-fault state, the insurance company will pay for the injuries sustained by the driver as well as those injured, regardless of who was at fault at the time of the accident.
New Jersey auto insurance also requires drivers to carry UM or UIM (Uninsured or Underinsured Motorist Coverage). This will offer protection to the motorists in case they are involved in an accident with an uninsured or underinsured driver.
DUI Laws Governing the State
Under the implied consent law in New Jersey, you can be pulled over on suspicion of DUI and in case you refuse to undergo the chemical test, your license may be suspended for a period of one year and will also face a stiff penalty of around $250 to $500. If you are pulled over for the second time and you refuse the test, then you will risk losing your license for two years, and if you repeat it three times, you will lose your license for up to ten years. As per the state laws you can be charged with DUI if your BAC or Blood Alcohol Content is 0.08%, which is the minimum known to impair anyone.
For the first New Jersey DUI offense you may face a jail term of up to one month with a fine of $250 and it may go up to $400. In case the BAC is 0.10% and above the fine may be anywhere between $300 and $500. Your license would be suspended for a period of three months and the suspension may go up to 7 months or even a year if the BAC is 0.10 and above. A second New Jersey DUI offense will attract a fine of around $500 to $1000 and a jail term of up to 90 days. The license may be suspended for a period of two years. A third New Jersey DUI offense will attract a $1,000 fine with imprisonment of up to 180 days and a 10-year license suspension.
New Jersey Distracted Driver Laws
According to the New Jersey Distracted Driver Laws, a fine of $100 would be levied if you are found using the cellphone while driving. In case you are involved in an accident as a result of distracted driving, you could face a jail term and also end up paying a huge fine. So, the best thing to do would be to avoid the use of cellphones while driving.
New Jersey Teen Driver Laws
Owing to the fact that there is an increase in the number of accidents caused due to distracted driving, the New Jersey legislature brought in the Distracted Driver Law in 2004. As per this law, a $100 fine would be levied on those who are caught using the cell phone while driving.
New Jersey auto insurance uses the GDL or the Graduated Driver Licensing system for teenage drivers. This system is aimed at reducing the number of accidents that are caused by inexperienced teens. It is a system that will allow teens to adapt to the nuances of driving gradually. This will also help them gain valuable experience behind the wheel and that will ultimately help them obtain an official New Jersey Driver license at a later stage.
Teens must be at least 16 years old and complete a Permit Phase where they have to pass a written test as well as a vision test. They will also have to complete around six hours behind the wheel training. They should have at least 50 hours of driving practice under the supervision of an adult with a valid license. This is inclusive of 10 hours of nighttime driving as well.
After successful completion of training during the Permit Phase the teens would enter the Probationary Phase where they would be at least 17 years of age. They would be required to pass the road skills test and also hold the probationary license for a minimum of one year.
There are a number of New Jersey teen driver restrictions that need to be adhered to. Violations will lead to further delay in obtaining licenses and suspension of licenses as well.
If you wish to purchase an auto insurance policy, you should obtain a few quotes from various auto insurance providers. Carry out a comparison of quotes and then opt for the one that suits your needs. You can save an incredible amount of time and money by shopping online. It is important that you purchase the right amount of coverage. In case you have any doubts you could contact the insurance company directly.
More Insurance Online
Auto Insurance Guide
- New Jersey Auto Insurance Basics
- New Jersey Auto Insurance Coverage
- New Jersey Auto Insurance Discounts
- New Jersey Factors that Affect Insurance Rates
- New Jersey Driving and Traffic Laws
- New Jersey Tips For Saving on Car Insurance
Auto Insurance in New Jersey Cities
- Columbus Auto Insurance
- Washington Auto Insurance
- Columbia Auto Insurance
- Springfield Auto Insurance
- Birmingham Auto Insurance
- Jackson Auto Insurance
- Riverside Auto Insurance
- Oakland Auto Insurance
- Franklin Auto Insurance
- Salem Auto Insurance
- Orange Auto Insurance
- Oxford Auto Insurance
- Trenton Auto Insurance