A new law set to be implemented in October has divided many Arizonians. The new provision will revise the existing insurance laws of the state and impose stiffer penalties on motorists caught without proof of insurance. At present, Arizona law requires all drivers to have proof of policy whenever law enforcers ask for them. Failure to present proof will automatically mean a fine and a court date. Drivers who have Arizona auto insurance but for any reason fail to provide proof to law enforcers can see the charges drop if they have valid insurance.
However, the rising numbers of uninsured drivers is causing many state officials to worry about the safety of Arizona’s roads and highways. In Tucson City, magistrates like Tony Rojias says that his court has seen a sudden increase in the number of citations issued for drivers without proof of insurance. Although some motorists present proof of their existing policies during court proceedings, many more admit to not having any form of auto insurance.
This is precisely what state officials are trying to minimize, according to analysts. Gov. Jan Brewer signed proposed bill into a law last July in an effort to curb the increasing number of uninsured motorists on the road. Insurance providers praised the new provision, saying that it is a concrete step towards getting uninsured drivers off the road. Industry sources say that with fewer uninsured motorists, insurance premiums can go down substantially.
Ordinary Arizonians also expressed their support for the law, saying that the state needs to impose tougher fines and stiffer penalties to discourage drivers from risking their lives and the lives of other motorists. For the first offense, drivers caught without insurance will have to pay $500. The second offense would mean a $750 fine and finally, a third offense will lead to a $1000 fine. Aside from these penalties, the court can also take away the license and registration of an driver convicted of not having insurance.
The courts can also choose not to take away the drivers’ license and registration if they have not been caught without insurance for the last two years. Motorists with clean driving records and not more than one violation for the last three years will also have the chance to retain their licenses and car registration. Even drivers who can show proof that they have been insured for the last six months can avoid losing their license and registration.