Arizona to cut down on uninsured motorists


Arizona to cut down on uninsured motoristsThere are lots of problems caused by uninsured motorists on the road. In cases of accidents, theft or property damage, uninsured motorists complicate issues for the authorities as well as for the victims. People think that by not opting for auto insurance, you can save money. This is not true-all you end up doing is to set yourself up for disaster. In an attempt to stem this trend of avoiding auto insurance, Arizona state government has taken some concrete steps.

To this effect, the governor of Arizona, Jan Brewer, has put together a bill that aims at reducing the number of uninsured motorists on the road. This bill is called the HB2224. It states that all motorists who have had three or more violations and were unable to show proof of auto insurance; have to prove their financial stability. This is a necessary condition before his license is restored and his license plates are reinstated. The law insists that this proof should be carried with the driver at all times and must be produced whenever three violations have been crossed. The thinking behind this is that only individuals who are able to pay the damages can stay uninsured. The state has decided that there will be a hefty fine for inability to produce evidence of financial stability. The fine will vary depending on whether it’s a first, second or third time offence. The penalty ranges between $500 and $1000. Besides this, the driver’s license can be suspended and registration plates impounded for a period ranging from three months to 12 months depending on whether it’s a first, second or third time violation.

This bill has the support of auto insurance providers as it aims to safeguard the legal system from getting taken advantage of by habitual insurance offenders. By enforcing a law that requires every motorist to be financially responsible for his violation, the state has brought some order into what was growing into a challenge. All 120 auto insurance agencies of Arizona were happy with the passing of this bill.

The law allows regular access to the offender’s violation record to make sure he has not crossed the maximum allowed three violations. Magistrates are also permitted to access past records of the offender to check on his violation status. The magistrate also has the right to decide if the offender is a first time offender or a habitual offender with no respect for the state law. First time offenders may be let off with a warning – at the discretion of the magistrate. On the other hand, a third time offender may be asked to turn in his license and registration plates until the time he is able to prove his financial solvency.

This strict enforcement of the bill aims to develop a sense of responsibility in drivers.