When it comes to counting on Wisconsin Driving and Traffic Laws, some of the major ones include crossing the speed limits or speeding of the vehicle, running over the traffic signal or ignorance of the stop signal and crossing over the center divider. More common traffic rules include the rule regarding the usage of seat belt wherever necessary, violation of the traffic rules will be considered when the person fails to stop at the crosswalk in order to allow the passengers to cross the road and failing to stop while the children are boarding the school bus.
Among all the traffic violations, the most serious ones are the road rage, street racing, drunk and reckless driving and vehicle homicide. The drunken driving rules in Wisconsin are that it is illegal for the person of over the age of 21 to drive a motor vehicle when he or she is under the influence of any intoxicant. Also, it is considered a crime when they are found to be driving with a detectable amount of restricted controlled substance present in the blood.
The primary safety belt law states that the police man can stop and ticket the driver wherever he is found not using the safety belt even if he has not committed any offense. There is another law called the motorcycle helmet use law that covers the use of helmet by all the riders in Wisconsin in order to avoid all the devastating and unbearable head injuries so that their life could be saved.
Wisconsin driving and traffic laws include the point system in which the demerit points are charged to the drivers when they are found guilty for violation of any of the Wisconsin traffic rules. When 12 or more points are accumulated in a year a deferral of the driver license is at least for the period of two months.
Driver records are maintained in order to record all the violations of the Wisconsin driving law by the driver in past five years from the day of conviction. But there are some of the exceptions like the rule regarding alcohol or some of the commercial violations which remain on the record for 10 years to life.
If the driver attends an approved traffic safety course then his three points can be reduced from the total. But there is one more rule attached to it that the reduction is only allowed once in the period of five years. But if the person has accumulated 12 or more than 12 points than he cannot go for reduction of the points as it requires suspension. The speeding above 20mph charge the person 6 points, the deviation from the traffic lane includes 4 points and if the person is caught racing or driving recklessly then he is charged with 6 points.
Some of the rules that include lesser points are improper brakes or lights which will charge the person a total of 3 points; also the person will be charged with the same points if he fails to give proper signals.