There are many traffic laws to prevent accidents and to induce discipline into drivers. However, since the perception towards many laws is different, the traffic laws vary from state to state. The mandatory law in one state need not be the same in another state. However, whether they are laws or just directions, at the end of the day, it is safer if the driver follows them more for the sake of personal safety than for the law.
Driving under influence
Also known as DUI, this means that if a driver is driving after alcohol consumption, he or she is committing a punishable offence. Motoring under the influence of alcohol is a very serious offence, if your blood alcohol content is found to be greater than 0.8%. If it is your first offense, the fine could be up to 750 dollars. But if you repeat the act more than one or two times within a period of 10 years, depending on local laws you could even be convicted. Such drivers have to go for a court hearing within 15 days of the conviction; otherwise their driving license will be suspended mandatorily. Some states like Louisiana have laws that state that if the age of the driver is below 21, then a blood alcohol content of only 0.2% can still be considered eligible for DUI. In states like Wyoming, you might get a mandatory suspension of driving license for 90 days.
Driving without a license
This is one of the more serious offenses that one can make and the traffic laws are pretty much consistent across most of the states. In Louisiana state, the offender could be charged with a fine of 50 dollars to 750 dollars depending on how many times the offense has been conducted. In some states, your license will be suspended until you show the proof of automobile insurance coverage which has to be usually within the next 3 days.
Reckless driving and crossing speed limits
This has many implications. If you are caught purposefully racing on the streets you could be fined. Similarly reckless driving likely to cause accidents is punishable with fines too. There are some states like Florida which maintain a point system. In this, if you are driving within 15 miles over the speed limit, 3 points are recorded on your license, while if you are driving over 15 miles above the speed limits, 4 points will be added. Accumulating more than 12 points within an year will mean suspension of your driving license for 30 days.
Moving and non moving violations
In some states, non moving violations like parking in the wrong place are eligible for fines but do not reflect on traffic records. Moving violations like accidents, speeding, jumping the signal etc. are considered misdemeanors.
Most states mandate that drivers should have sufficient finances to pay for the losses or damage causes to the other party in accidents that occur due to their fault. This is why a liability insurance of 10,000 dollars or more is absolutely mandatory in most states.