Everybody can find out the basic requirements for auto insurance in the state of Delaware, Or for that matter, in any given state in the United States of America. But to actually know the in’s and out’s of the legal system is not possible by just surfing the internet or asking around. There are so many things that one cannot find by just going to one single website. But if you really are not satisfied with the following, the next best step would be to walk into a local law library and figure out stuff from gigantic books on local laws.
First we shall cover the basics of auto insurance coverage requirements in Delaware. The basic personal injury protection requirement is $15000 in the state of Delaware. The coverage requirement for all the people involved in an accident is $30000 in the state of Delaware. And for all the property damage incurred in an accident, it is $5000 in the state.
But above and over this, there is another basic requirement. This is called personal injury protection. In a situation where you are the party at fault you can claim for medical reimbursement for yourself and your passengers under this policy. The basic coverage requirement for this is $15000 in the state of Delaware. And for all the people in your car, you can claim up to $30000 under this coverage.
Out of state registered vehicles in Delaware
This is a tricky situation to be in. for one, if you have an out of state board on your vehicle, you can be fined for the same. The ticket will carry a fine of a $100 for this. But if you are able to prove that you were just travelling through Delaware by showing a home address from the state of registration, then you need not worry. But this can get tricky. But when one comes to the question of how much coverage is required, it again gets murky. It is actually acceptable to have a coverage that conforms to the state from which the vehicle is registered, even if that coverage is below the required norm for Delaware. But you need to be able to prove that you are not residing in Delaware in such a case. if not, it is enough to be insured up to or beyond the limits for Delaware.
Insurance certification issues
When the owner surrenders a policy, it is required that he or she give up the car’s license plates to the local department of motor vehicles. If the owner fails to do so, the DMV can audit the vehicle to find out whether or not it is insured. And if it is found to be uninsured, the owner can be fined up to $100 for the first one month and then an additional $5 for every day that the owner does not have an insurance policy.
If an audit is made and the owner fails to respond to the DMV, the cars registration can be suspended and even the driver’s license can be revoked. To avoid such an issue, the driver needs to submit a proof of insurance to the DMV if such a certification is sought after an audit. Fines for the first offense can be up to $1500 and $3000 for subsequent offenses within a span of 6 months of the first offense.