The driving and traffic laws in the different states across the country are pretty much the same, except for some minor variations and changes that might be unique to a particular state. These rules are usually explicitly specified and are written in such a way that one need not be too worried about breaking them and will normally be made aware of them in large and explicit road signs. The only thing that varies might be the fine and the penalty for breaking any of these laws, and one needs to be careful while driving to ensure that they are following all the local rules and regulations.
The next rules are pertaining to drivers who are below the age of 18. These drivers, often labeled as young drivers, have slightly different rules than those who are 18 years of age or older. Under Oregon law, a driver under the age of 18 who has been convicted one or more times in road accidents or convictions or a combination of the two, will have restriction on their driving privileges to only drive from and to their place of work. They may be accompanied by their parent, stepparent or guardian while driving a motor vehicle. Also, these are the restrictions in addition to the ones that might already be in effect on young drivers.
For drivers who are 18 above and have had three or more convictions or road accidents in less than 18 months, the driving privileges might be restricted for a period of 30 days. The drivers are not allowed to operate the motor vehicle from 12 AM to 5 AM, unless they need to do so for their job. Furthermore, a combination 4 accidents or 4 convictions, or a mix of the two equaling 4 in less than 24 months will automatically result in driving privileges being suspended for at least 30 days.
Oregon also has this special rule where a person is not allowed to embrace another person while driving. This act is considered to be illegal and provides adequate grounds for an officer to pull over any vehicle that is guilty of this offense. This is actually considered to fall under reckless driving and people who are pulled over for it are booked under the reckless driving code. Furthermore, Oregon interstate highway speed limits are restricted to 70 MPH, and an officer can pull over any person who is travelling above this limit and fine him depending on the location of where he was speeding.
While these rules are some of the basic rules which are different from the rest of the states, there are also the other standard driving rules that one has to observe when driving in the state. Many people are unaware of these rules, especially if they are just driving by the destination. Also, it should be noted that people who are passing by the state on the highway are offered a little more leniency than the ones who are not, and might be given a warning if pulled over. However, it is better to be safe and obey the rules rather than get pulled over and learn about it.