While the consequences for breaking the rules of the road vary from state to state, most of the main guidelines apply. The following driving and traffic laws pertain specifically to the state of Kentucky.
All drivers in the state of Kentucky must wear seat belts with only a few exceptions. If you are a mail carrier on duty, disabled or a child who is in the required child safety seat.
Kentucky’s Child Restraint Law is very simple – all children who are 40 inches high or below must be in the appropriate approved child safety seat. If you are caught driving with a child who is not in their car seat, you will be fined $50 plus an extra $10 which will be donated to the Traumatic Brain Injury Trust Fund.
If you are caught driving under the influence of alcohol in the Kentucky with a .08 blood alcohol level you can lose your drivers license for up to 120 days with your first offense within a five year period. You will be fined from $200 to $500 and you could spend 2 to 30 days in jail and have to enter a 90 day alcohol or substance abuse program.
The speed limits in effect on the interstates and highways in Kentucky have recently been raised to 70 mph. Residential roads are set at 25-35 mph and school zones are set at 25 mph. And speeding through a construction site will cost you double the amount in fines.
Kentucky does not currently have any laws restricting the use of cell phones while driving your vehicle. It only makes sense to try to use a hands free device for your protection and others on the road.
Any violation that occurs while you are driving is considered a moving violation – running a red light, speeding, and failure to come to a complete stop at a stop sign. Other instances are considered non-moving violations like having a headlight that is out or a signal light that is not working correctly.
If you get a moving violation, you should check with your car insurance carrier about the benefits of attending a safe driving class. Many times you will have to pay to attend a four to six hour class but it will eliminate the addition of any points to your license. This may save you money in the long run by preventing your insurance rates from going up.