Indiana had devised a points system for traffic violations, which get accumulated in the records of the driver. The Indiana Bureau of Motor Vehicles monitors these points and keeps the points for 2 years in the driving records of the driver. If the driver gets 18 or more points during a period of 24 months, an administrative hearing would be held and the driving license could be suspended. The points for some common violations under Indiana driving and traffic laws are presented here for your understanding, if you are driving in Indiana.
|Speeding – depending on speed||2-6|
|No brake or signal lights||2|
|Failure to yield||6|
|Driving on suspended license||8|
Drivers in Indiana should obey the speed limits strictly. The speed limits on rural interstate highways are 65-70 mph. The speed limits on rural state divided highways are 60 mph. Interstates in urban areas and rural state highways have a speed limit of 55 mph. Residential area speed limits are 30 mph. County road speed limit is 50 mph. Violation of the speed limits would result in a traffic ticket, as well as a fine. Relevant points would be added to your driving record.
All the passengers in the front portion of the vehicle should wear seatbelts. Children between 8 and 15 should wear seatbelt, even if they are traveling in the back seat. Children below the age of 8 should be restrained safely in a child safety seat. Violating the above rules would lead to a fine of $25. Emergency vehicles with flashing lights or sounding sirens should be given right of way. You should either make path for the vehicle to pass you or you should pull over to the side of the road.
If you wish to obtain a driving license in Indiana, you should compulsorily pass three tests. They are vision test, driver’s license test, and a written test. New drivers should obtain a learner’s permit first, paying $9. Full license could be obtained after holding the learner’s permit for 60 days. The fee would vary between $7 and $14. This would depend on the age of the driver. Persons with an age of 16 or above could apply for a learner’s permit. Persons between 15 and 16 could apply for driver education learner’s permit and they could enroll in any driver education training program approved by the state. Persons below the age of 18 should obtain parental consent for applying for the driving permit. Proof of birth date and identity should be submitted while applying for driving license.
If you wish to register and title a vehicle in Indiana, you should produce the following documents to the transport branch where you apply for vehicle registration.
- Manufacturer’s certificate of origin or the old title
- Proof of insurance
- Bill of vehicle sale
- Your social security card
- Odometer statement
The fee for registration and title is normally $15. However, this fee would vary according to the type of vehicle. Further, you should pay the sales tax of 6% on the vehicle before registering it. Certain counties like Clark, Lake, Porter, and Floyd would require the vehicle to pass the emission test of the state.