Illinois State insurance and driving rules


We all have heard of how important it is to have insurance for your cars. When we tend to not consider insurance as an important part of our lives we make a costly mistake and incur huge losses. Insurance is without doubt the most important aspect of nearly everyone’s life and the importance of auto insurance cannot be stressed enough. When you are in the state of Illinois it is important that you know what sort of rules are there about driving and also about what insurance is essential at a minimum level. It is important that you have adequate cover so that you do not end up with too many liabilities should something go wrong and that you also can afford whatever losses you may end up having to deal with. Here are some rules and regulations applicable in the state of Illinois that you should know if you plan to drive into that state.

The state of Illinois has very strict laws like any other and it requires that people have proof of insurance at all times with them. There may be a random verification done by the law or the authorities and if you are found to be a defaulter then you will have to deal with the consequences. There could be a suspension of your license, as well as a fine or imprisonment. You could be fined $500 if you are found to be driving without insurance. If you have been caught a second time for a similar infringement then the person will have to pay $1000.

An applicant in Illinois state for instruction permit in driving needs the applicant to pass a vision test as well as a written exam.  If the applicant is of 17 years and 3 months of age, they do not need to complete a driver’s education course to qualify. If an applicant has a good record of driving without any infringement or breaking any laws they can obtain license with parental consent before they have finished 18 years of age. There is also a requirement that the applicant should have completed at least 50 hours of driving and have had at least 10 of these 50 hours completed during night time without any incidents or issues with the law. There are also specific hours during the night time where teens are restricted from driving. If they are found to be driving during these late hours they must be accompanied by a parent or guardian or could face having their license delayed or it may be not be approved.

There are also minimum insurance requirements for the State of Illinois like any other state in the United States. It is important to make sure your coverage meets with these specifications when you choose an insurance carrier. In case there is an accident and an injury or death of an individual in it, there must be coverage of $20,000.  In case of there being more than one injured or dead, the coverage should be $40,000. In case of damage to property the liability insurance required is a minimum of $15,000. When found driving without insurance in case of any accident or when accosted by the law there can be a fine of $500 and a suspension of registration of your car till a reinstatement fee is given.