In Hawaii, you should undergo an approved driver education course and a driver training course if you are under 18, even if you possess driving license of another state. You would be granted a provisional license after you complete the courses successfully. If you are over 18, you need not undergo these courses but attending them would be quite useful. For cars, Hawaii provides a Class 3 license for driving vehicles that weigh 15,000 pounds or lesser. The vehicle design should allow transport of a maximum of 15 passengers, including the driver.
The drunk driving laws in Hawaii are determined by a point system that evaluates the records of a driver. The driver would be constantly monitored for continued driving qualification. The graduated scale of points assigned to the driver for various traffic violations are listed hereunder.
- Driving under the influence of alcoholic drinks or other intoxicating material 4 to 8
- Driving with a suspended or revoked license 3 to 6
- Reckless Driving 3 to 6
- Fraudulent use of the license of another person 3 to 6
- Speeding about 15 miles or more than established limits 3 to 6
- Speeding about 10 miles or more than established limits 1 to 4
- Hit and run 3 to 6
- Failure to report an accident 1 to 4
- Negligent driving 1 to 4
The points accrued by a driving during the past twelve months preceding the latest violation would be computed and counted at the full value. The points accumulated between twelve and twenty-four months before the latest violation would be counted at half their value. If a person had not made any traffic violations for twenty-four months, the driver would be credited with six favorable points.
If the district judge determines that a driver had accumulated certain points that warrant the suspension of the license, the judge would decide on the period of suspension of the driver license. If a driver accumulates six points in a 12-month period for Hawaii traffic law violations, the driver should attend a driving instruction course. Sometimes, the judge could order mandatory community service, apart from a fine, if the offenses are of a serious nature. When the license suspension period comes to an end, the license would be reinstated and the points accumulated by the driver would be set aside, except the last six points.
In Hawaii, the traffic laws had been termed as civil infractions. The civil infractions include, speeding, running a red light or a stop sign, not giving a turn signal, illegal turning, broken tail light, parking in a no-parking zone, and expired parking meter. Apart from the points that accrue to the driver for such offenses, the judge might order the driver to pay a fine. In most of the civil infraction cases, the driver would not even see the judge or a courtroom. The fines and associated surcharges would be sent by mail or e-mail to the driver and the fine should be paid within the stipulated period.