In 2007, the state of Georgia passed a new law, known as ‘Joshua’s Law’, to alter the process for a teen driver to obtain a driving license. Further, the ‘Teenage and Adult Driver Responsibility Act’ or TADRA was established to minimize driving risks in teenagers and adult drivers. Under the system, a teenager with a minimum age of 15 could apply for a Class C learner driving permit in Georgia. The teenager should undergo eye test and knowledge, after providing the Social Security Number and an application duly signed by a parent or a guardian. This driving permit would valid for 2 years. While driving, the teenager should be accompanied by an adult over 21 years of age, who possesses a valid driving license.
Teenagers above 16 years of age could apply to Class D intermediate license, after possessing the learner permit for one year. Teenagers having Class D license should not drive between 12.00 am and 6.00 am. After attaining the age of 18 and having a Class D license, the teenager would be granted a Full Class C Driver License, if the teenager had not been convicted for any major traffic violations.
In Georgia, if you are convicted for first drunk driving, you might be imposed a fine varying between $300 and $1,000 and a jail sentence of one year. Further, your driving license could be suspended for one year and you might be asked to do mandatory community service up to 40 hours. You would be required to pay $200 as reinstatement fee to get back your suspended driving license. If the driver is below the age of 21, the granting of the graduated driving license would be delayed by 12 months.
If you face a second drunk driving conviction, the fine would be between $600 and $1,000 and a jail sentence varying between 90 days and one year. The driving license would be revoked for 3 years and 30 days of community service would be imposed. The driving license reinstatement cost would be $210.
For the third drunk driving offense, a minimum of 15 days jail and a fine between $1,000 and $5,000 would be imposed. The driving license would be suspended for 5 years and you would be asked to do mandatory community service of 30 days. Further, your name and address would be published in a local newspaper with your photo and you should bear that expense. The license plate would be confiscated and you would be declared a ‘habitual violator’.
A fourth drunk driving offense would be considered a serious felony. A fourth conviction in ten years could get you a jail sentence between 1 and 5 years and a fine ranging from $1,000 to $5,000. Even if the sentence is suspended, 90 days of imprisonment would be imposed. A minimum of mandatory 60 days of community service and the completion of a DUI rehabilitation program would be required.
Hence, it would be prudent if you follow the driving and traffic rules in Georgia and resort to safe driving. You should remember that a clean driving history would help you to obtain better premium rates on your auto insurance.