When you are aware of the driving and traffic laws in the state of Colorado ahead of time it will keep you from making some costly mistakes. Following the rules of the road and obeying traffic laws will keep you and your family safe as well as prevent unnecessary increases on your insurance coverage as well as save you money on traffic tickets and fines.
In Colorado, as in most states, you are assessed points for a variety of traffic violations. The number of points that will result in a suspension of your license is different in every state. In Colorado it is actually broken up into different driving categories. If you are a minor, your license will be suspended with the accumulation of 6 points in a 12 month period; a professional driver will lose their license with 9 points within a year, and an adult driver will have his or her license suspended with 12 points in a 12 month period.
You are considered driving under the influence (DUI) if your blood alcohol level is 0.08 or more. If your blood alcohol level is 0.05 or more you are considered driving while ability impaired (DWAI).
A first DWAI offense will get you 8 points on your license, a fine of $100-$500, jail time and community service. A first DUI will get you 12 points on your license, fines up to $1,000, 5 days to one year in jail and up to 96 hours of community service.
Seat belts are required for all drivers and passengers in vehicles while driving in Colorado. This includes all front seat drivers, all front seat passengers and any children up to 16 years old. Children from 4 to 6 years old are required to be in booster seats. Front facing seats are required for children from 1 to 4 years old weighing 20 to 40 pounds. Children under the age of one and who weigh less than 20 pounds must be in a rear facing seat.
You can turn on red after a full stop in Colorado, and you can turn left on a red light when you are turning from a one-way street onto another one-way street. Speed limits on the highways vary from state to state. In Colorado 65 to 75 mph is the speed limit on rural interstates. In residential areas you are going to have to slow down to 30 mph. And the speed limit for open mountain highways is 40 mph.