Following the rules of the road in the state of Arkansas will keep you, your passengers and others on the road safe. Infractions range from not so serious to serious and the fines and consequences are assigned accordingly.
Less serious traffic violations include failure to yield to an ambulance, police car or any emergency vehicle, parking violations, littering and failure to obey a traffic signal. Even though they are considered less serious in nature they still come with fines that could stay on your record and cause your insurance premiums to remain high for up to three years.
More serious infractions include drinking and driving, speeding, leaving the scene of an accident, driving the wrong way on a one-way street and following too closely. Points are given for more serious violations and accumulated points will result in an increased severity of actions. You will receive a warning letter with 10-13 points; a three month suspended license with 14-17 points; 18-23 points will get your license suspended for up to six months and one year suspension comes with 24 or more points.
Arkansas does not have any laws in place regarding cell phone use while driving except for school bus drivers. If you are operating a school bus you are not allowed to use a cell phone of any kind, including hands free headsets, unless it is for an emergency.
In Arkansas you must be at least 21 years of age to drink alcohol. If you are stopped by a police officer and your blood alcohol level is .08% you are considered driving while intoxicated (DWI). If you are under 21 years of age you are considered DWI if your blood alcohol level is .02%. Drivers of commercial vehicles are DWI at .04%.
Arkansas utilizes the Implied Consent Law. This means that if a police officer or any other law enforcement official suspects you are driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol they can stop you and test you on the spot. When you apply for your driver’s license in the state of Arkansas you are automatically agreeing to this law.
A first offense will get you fines of $150 to $1,000 and your license will be suspended for 120 days. A second offense will result in your license being suspended for two years. Each additional offense brings longer suspensions and additional fines.
Anyone who is over the age of 14 must wear a seat belt while riding in the front seat of the vehicle. Children under the age of 6 years old and weighing less than 60 pounds must be seated in an approved child safety seat.